Please E-mail suggested additions, comments and/or corrections to Kent@MoreLaw.Com.
Case Style: State of Montana v. Sandra Lee Ann Cantrell
Judge: Leon Tucker
Court: Beaverhead County, District Court, Montana
Plaintiff's Attorney: Jed C. Fitch
Defendant's Attorney: Chris Petaja
Description: Dillon, MT - Transient woman found guilty of stabbing man during encounter in campground
The State of Montana charged Sandra Lee Ann Cantrell, age 51, with deliberate homicide, felony assault wiht a weapon, felony tampering with or fabricating physical evidence, and misdemeanor theft for stabbing Mark Robert Mullen to death on August 8, 2014, at the Bryant Creek Campground near Wise River.
Defendant claimed that she stabbed Mullen after he made a sexual advance toward her while she was cutting watermelon at the campground.
The Defendant fled from the scene with her common-law husband, Christopher Lee Stiles, age 29. He clubbed Mullen to death with a stick after the man was stabbed by Cantrell.
The defense introduced evidence that included pornographic DVDs, sex boys and personal lubricant inside Mullen's motor home.
Montana Deliberate Homicide Statute:
45-5-102. Deliberate homicide. (1) A person commits the offense of deliberate homicide if:
(a) the person purposely or knowingly causes the death of another human being;
(b) the person attempts to commit, commits, or is legally accountable for the attempt or commission of robbery, sexual intercourse without consent, arson, burglary, kidnapping, aggravated kidnapping, felonious escape, assault with a weapon, aggravated assault, or any other forcible felony and in the course of the forcible felony or flight thereafter, the person or any person legally accountable for the crime causes the death of another human being; or
(c) the person purposely or knowingly causes the death of a fetus of another with knowledge that the woman is pregnant.
(2) A person convicted of the offense of deliberate homicide shall be punished by death as provided in 46-18-301 through 46-18-310, unless the person is less than 18 years of age at the time of the commission of the offense, by life imprisonment, or by imprisonment in the state prison for a term of not less than 10 years or more than 100 years, except as provided in 46-18-219 and 46-18-222.