Please E-mail suggested additions, comments and/or corrections to Kent@MoreLaw.Com.
Help support the publication of case reports on MoreLaw
Carol H. Stewart v. Harford Life and Accident Insurance Company
Date: 08-10-2022
Case Number: 21-11919 2:17-cv-01423
Judge: Newsom
Court: United States Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit on appeal from the Northern District of Alabama (Jefferson County)
Plaintiff's Attorney:
Defendant's Attorney: Braxton Scott Thrash, Grace Robinson Murphy, Grace J. Posey
Carol Stewart sued to obtain two insurance benefits that she
believes Hartford Insurance Company owes her: (1) long-term dis-
ability payments and (2) a waiver of life-insurance premiums. Alt-
hough it concedes that Stewart was covered by its policy, Hartford
contends that she was ineligible for those benefits. Hartford's pol-
icy indisputably granted it discretion to make benefits determina-
tions, and we conclude that its determinations were permissible.
Accordingly, we must defer to Hartford's determinations and af-
firm the district court's order granting it summary judgment.
I
In 2007, prominent Birmingham attorney Carol Stewart's
physician diagnosed her with Parkinson's disease.1 At the time,
Burr Forman LLP, Stewart's employer, provided her with disability
insurance through its ERISA health plan. Sun Life Assurance Com-
pany of Canada, which serviced that plan, began paying Stewart
partial, and later total, disability benefits. In 2010, Burr Forman
cancelled its policy with Sun Life and switched the administration
of its ERISA health plan over to Hartford Insurance.
The new Hartford policy contained an exclusion clause spec-
ifying that a member of the firm was ineligible for disability-insur-
ance payments if she was receiving "benefits for a Disability under
a prior disability plan that: 1) was sponsored by [her] Employer;
and 2) was terminated before the Effective Date of The Policy.â€
Because Sun Life was still paying Stewart disability benefits, Hart-
ford found that Stewart was "receiving benefits for [a] Disability
under a prior disability plan†that had been "terminated†before its
own policy went into effect and, consequently, that she wasn't eli-
gible for Hartford disability benefits.
Hartford also provided life insurance. Its life-insurance pol-
icy specified that one who was "Disabled†needn't pay premiums
for coverage, and it defined "Disabled,†in relevant part, as being
unable to perform "any work for which [one is] qualified by: 1) ed-
ucation; 2) training; or 3) experience.†Following a multi-step ap-
peals process, Hartford determined that Stewart wasn't "Disabledâ€
within the meaning of its policy and that she therefore had to pay
life-insurance premiums.
Stewart filed suit to obtain relief under 29 U.S.C. § 1132(a),
which allows an insurance-plan participant to bring a civil action to
"recover benefits due to [her] under the terms of [her] plan.†The
district court granted Hartford summary judgment. Stewart ap-
peals, arguing (1) that she is entitled to disability insurance from
Hartford because she doesn't fall into its policy's exclusion clause
and (2) that she is disabled and should not have been required to
pay premiums for life-insurance coverage.
* * *
4 Opinion of the Court 21-11919
and (2) that she is disabled and should not have been required to
pay premiums for life-insurance coverage.2
II
When "reviewing a plan administrator's benefits decisionâ€
this Court conducts the following six-step analysis:
(1) Apply the
de novo standard to determine whether
the claim administrator's benefits-denial decision is
"wrong†(i.e., the court disagrees with the administra-
tor's decision); if it is not, then end the inquiry and
affirm the decision.
(2) If the administrator's decision in fact is "de novo
wrong,†then determine whether he was vested with
discretion in reviewing claims; if not, end judicial in-
quiry and reverse the decision.
(3) If the administrator's decision is "de novo wrongâ€
and he was vested with discretion in reviewing
claims, then determine whether "reasonableâ€
grounds supported it (hence, review his decision un-
der the more deferential arbitrary and capricious
standard).
(4) If no reasonable grounds exist, then end the in-
quiry and reverse the administrator's decision; if rea-
sonable grounds do exist, then determine if he oper-
ated under a conflict of interest.
(5) If there is no conflict, then end the inquiry and af-
firm the decision.
(6) If there is a conflict, the conflict should merely be
a factor for the court to take into account when deter-
mining whether an administrator's decision was arbi-
trary and capricious.
Blankenship v. Metro. Life Ins. Co., 644 F.3d 1350, 1355 (11th Cir.
2011) (per curiam).
ments because Hartford’s interpretation of the disability exclusion
was reasonable, and its conflict of interest didn’t lead it to make an
arbitrary or capricious decision. Likewise, Stewart was not entitled
to a waiver of life-insurance premiums because she wasn’t disabled
within the meaning of Hartford’s life-insurance policy.4
AFFIRMED.
About This Case
What was the outcome of Carol H. Stewart v. Harford Life and Accident Insurance C...?
The outcome was: To summarize, Stewart was not entitled to disability pay- ments because Hartford’s interpretation of the disability exclusion was reasonable, and its conflict of interest didn’t lead it to make an arbitrary or capricious decision. Likewise, Stewart was not entitled to a waiver of life-insurance premiums because she wasn’t disabled within the meaning of Hartford’s life-insurance policy.4 AFFIRMED.
Which court heard Carol H. Stewart v. Harford Life and Accident Insurance C...?
This case was heard in United States Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit on appeal from the Northern District of Alabama (Jefferson County), AL. The presiding judge was Newsom.
Who were the attorneys in Carol H. Stewart v. Harford Life and Accident Insurance C...?
Plaintiff's attorney: Click Here to Watch How To Find A Lawyer by Kent Morlan Click Here For The Best Birmingham Insurance Law Lawyer Directory. Defendant's attorney: Braxton Scott Thrash, Grace Robinson Murphy, Grace J. Posey.
When was Carol H. Stewart v. Harford Life and Accident Insurance C... decided?
This case was decided on August 10, 2022.