Please E-mail suggested additions, comments and/or corrections to Kent@MoreLaw.Com.
Help support the publication of case reports on MoreLaw
Ball-Foster Glass Container Co. v. Giovanelli
Date: 02-11-2008
Case Number: 77655-5
Judge: Charles W. Johnson
Court: Supreme Court of Washington on appeal from the Superior Court King County
Plaintiff's Attorney: Joseph Andrew Grube, Ricci Grube Aita & Breneman PLLC, Seattle, Washington
Beverly Norwood Goetz, Office of The Attorney General, Seattle, Washington
Defendant's Attorney: Amy L Arvidson, Keehn Kunkler PLLC, Seattle, Washington
traveling employee doctrine, a worker from out-of-state, injured while working in
Washington, is entitled to workers' compensation benefits under the Industrial
Insurance Act (IIA), Title 51 RCW. The Department of Labor and Industries, an
industrial appeals judge, the Board of Industrial Insurance Appeals, the superior
court, and the Court of Appeals all relied on the traveling employee doctrine to find
the injured worker in this case entitled to workers compensation benefits. We
affirm.
FACTUAL AND PROCEDURAL HISTORY
Alfred Giovanelli is a highly skilled and experienced firebrick mason.
Although he resides in Pennsylvania, he regularly travels around the country to work
on glass furnace rebuilds. Petitioner Ball-Foster Glass Container Company
(currently known as Saint-Gobain Corporation) owns and operates 18 glass
container manufacturing plants around the country, including one in Seattle. Saint-
Gobain Corporation (St. Gobain) scheduled a rebuild of one of its glass furnaces at
its Seattle plant in 2001. Pursuant to St. Gobain's contract with the International
Union of Bricklayers and Allied Craftsmen Union, half of the masons used on the
rebuild were referred by the local union hall and the other half were referred by
Sonny Champ Refractories, a privately owned company with whom St. Gobain
regularly contracts to provide labor and supervision on rebuild projects. Thus, half
of the masons hired were local and half were from out-of-state. Sonny Champ,
owner of Sonny Champ Refractories, would sometimes work as superintendent for
St. Gobain's rebuilds and would regularly hire Giovanelli to work as his crew
foreman. Giovanelli began working on St. Gobain projects in the 1980s and worked
exclusively for St. Gobain for at least five years before being injured. Test.
Giovanelli, Tr. (Apr. 25, 2003) at 21-24. Giovanelli worked on five rebuilds for St.
Gobain in 1998, three in 1999, and five in 2000. Giovanelli was working on his
third rebuild for St. Gobain in 2001 when he sustained the injuries underlying this
claim.
Under the union contract, St. Gobain paid for travel to and from the work
location for all of the out-of-state masons, including Giovanelli. Giovanelli was also
paid his hourly wage for eight hours while traveling to Seattle and an additional
eight hours for traveling home. Neither the local or out-of-state masons signed any
paperwork until they arrived at the plant to begin work. All of the masons were
hired as Washington employees and deductions applicable to Washington
employees were taken from their paychecks. St. Gobain paid the out-of-state
masons a per diem of $78 for every day they were employed during the project,
regardless of whether the mason was required to work that day. St. Gobain also
provided Giovanelli with a rental car. St. Gobain points out that, unlike a typical St.
Gobain employee, Giovanelli and the other out-of-state masons did not receive
medical, dental, life insurance, or 401K benefits, nor were they reimbursed for the
actual cost of hotel and meal expenses, over the per diem payment.
The day Giovanelli was injured he was with the superintendent of St.
Gobain's Seattle project, Royce A. (Sonny) Champ. Both men were staying at the
same hotel. In evidence submitted during Champ's testimony, Champ gave a
statement to police that he and Giovanelli had noticed a sign that Sunday that read
"Music in the Park." Board Ex. 9, Royce A. Champ statement to Det. W.
Butterfield, Apr. 24, 2003.
While Giovanelli was expected to be available to work on Sundays, he was
not scheduled to work on Sunday, August 12, 2001, the day of the accident. When
the accident occurred, he and Champ had started to walk across the street directly in
front of their hotel -- and were headed to the nearby park -- when Giovanelli was hit
and injured by a moving car. Decision and Order of the Board, Undisputed Facts,
(July 31, 2003) at 2-3. Giovanelli sustained serious injuries, including multiple
fractures, degloving of his skin, and a head injury that resulted in permanent
blindness. Giovanelli applied for workers' compensation benefits and the
Department of Labor and Industries (Department) ordered St. Gobain to allow the
claim.1 St. Gobain appealed the order and, following a hearing, the industrial
insurance appeals judge issued a proposed decision and order affirming the
Department's order. St. Gobain appealed to the Board of Industrial Insurance
Appeals (Board). The Board denied the petition for review and adopted the
industrial insurance appeals judge's proposed decision and order as its own. St.
Gobain appealed to the King County Superior Court. The Department moved for
summary judgment. The trial court initially denied the summary judgment motion
but before trial was set to begin, granted it. Relying on Shelton v. Azar, Inc., 90
Wn. App. 923, 954 P.2d 352 (1998), the trial court found Giovanelli was "in the
course of employment" when he was injured because he was traveling at the
direction of his employer and his travel was for a purpose benefiting the employer.
Based on this finding, the trial court found there was no issue of material fact and
the case could be decided as a matter of law. CR 56(c).
St. Gobain appealed the trial court's decision to the Court of Appeals. The
Court of Appeals affirmed the trial court, and St. Gobain petitioned this court for
review. Ball-Foster Glass Container Co. v. Giovanelli, 156 Wn.2d 1024, 133 P.3d
473 (2006).
ISSUE
Does Giovanelli qualify for workers' compensation benefits under the
traveling employee doctrine?
ANALYSIS
Washington, like most other states, adopted a workers' compensation act
nearly a century ago. See 1 Arthur Larson & Lex K. Larson, Larson's Workers'
Compensation Law § 2.08 (2006). Our workers' compensation act is a compromise
between employers and workers. Dennis v. Dep't of Labor & Indus., 109 Wn.2d
467, 469, 745 P.2d 1295 (1987). Employers are liable for workplace injuries
without regard to fault in exchange for limited liability, and employees forfeit
common law remedies which may exceed that available under workers'
compensation law, in exchange for swift and certain relief. Industrial injuries are
viewed as a cost of production. Dennis, 109 Wn.2d at 470.
Workers' compensation is a particularly dynamic field of legislative activity,
as the forces of labor and industry assert their interests at each legislative session.
However, while specific criteria vary from state to state and change over time, the
general standard governing compensability of an injury is remarkably uniform and
unchanging. The general coverage provision in the workers' compensation acts of
43 states as well as the Longshore and Harbor Workers' Compensation Act, 33
U.S.C. § 901, all share the language first used in the "British Compensation Act
formula: injury 'arising out of and in the course of employment.'" 1 Larson &
Larson, supra, § 3.01.
Washington is one of the few states that depart from the formula. Dennis,
109 Wn.2d at 480. Under Washington law, there is no requirement that an injury
"arise out of" employment, only that the worker was within "the course of
employment" when injured.2 RCW 51.32.010. The language of the statute shows
the intent of the Washington Legislature to adopt a broader and more
comprehensive statute than other states. Stertz v. Indus. Ins. Comm'n, 91 Wash.
588, 594, 158 P. 256 (1916). Although the Washington standard is more lenient,
the practical significance of this distinction has been lessened as the "arising out of"
prong in other jurisdictions has evolved from something akin to a "proximate cause"
requirement to a "but for" test. 1 Larson & Larson, supra, § 3.06 (observing that
some jurisdictions now apply a broader unitary "work connection test" examining
whether the injury is related to a risk incidental to employment).
As stated by the United States Supreme Court, "the statutory phrase
'arising out of and in the course of employment,' which appears in most
workmen's compensation laws, is deceptively simple and litigiously prolific."
Cardillo v. Liberty Mut. Ins. Co., 330 U.S. 469, 479, 67 S. Ct. 801, 91 L. Ed.
1028 (1947).
Although each case must be resolved in view of the particular facts,
over time a number of intermediate standards for evaluating whether an injury
occurs "in the course of employment" have developed as courts apply this
statutory language to cases presenting similar fact patterns. See Ridgway v.
Combined Ins. Cos. of Am., 98 Idaho 410, 414, 565 P.2d 1367 (1977)
(Bistline, J., concurring). Several doctrines address situations in which an
employee is injured while off the employer's premises and/or not actually
engaged in work duties.3 The common principle underlying each of these
doctrines is that it is generally not necessary that a worker was actually
performing the duties for which he or she was hired at the time of an accident
in order for an injury to be compensable. It is sufficient if the injury arises
out of a risk that is sufficiently incidental to the conditions and circumstances
of the particular employment. In doubtful cases, the act is to be construed
liberally in favor of compensation for the injured worker. McIndoe v. Dep't
of Labor & Indus., 144 Wn.2d 252, 257, 26 P.3d 903 (2001).
Although new to this court, the traveling employee doctrine is not a novel
concept. The traveling employee doctrine, also known as the "commercial traveler
rule," or the "continuous coverage rule," is the prevailing view throughout the
United States. See Buczynski v. Indus. Comm'n, 934 P.2d 1169, 1173 (Utah Ct.
App. 1997). A traveling employee is generally considered to be in the course of
employment continuously during the entire trip, except during a distinct departure on
a personal errand. 2 Arthur Larson & Lex K. Larson, Larson's Workers'
Compensation Law § 25.01 (2006). The rationale for this extended coverage is that
when travel is an essential part of employment, the risks associated with the
necessity of eating, sleeping, and ministering to personal needs away from home are
an incident of the employment even though the employee is not actually working at
the time of injury. Buczynski, 934 P.2d at 1174 (quoting State Accident Ins. Fund
Corp. v. Reel, 303 Or. 210, 735 P.2d 364 (1987)). The rule recognizes that a
traveling employee is subjected to '"hazards [he or] she would otherwise have the
option of avoiding,'" and that the hazards of travel become the hazards of the
employment. Chavez v. ABF Freight Sys. Inc., 2001-NMCA-39, 130 N.M. 524,
528, 27 P.3d 1011 (internal quotation marks omitted) (quoting Ramirez v. Dawson
Prod. Partners, Inc., 2000-NMCA-011, 128 N.M. 601, 12, 995 P.2d 1043).
In Shelton, the Court of Appeals adopted the traveling employee doctrine,
stating the general rule as: "When employees are required by their employers to
travel to distant jobsites, courts generally hold that they are within the course of
their employment throughout the trip, unless they are pursuing a distinctly personal
activity." Shelton, 90 Wn. App. at 933 (emphasis added).
Consistent with our decisions recognizing the exceptions to the coming and
going rule, we now recognize that traveling employees are entitled to expanded
coverage for travel-related injuries. Of course, the traveling employee doctrine does
not require coverage for every injury. A traveling employee may depart on a
personal errand just like any other type of employee, thus losing the right to
compensation benefits during such departures. Silver Eng'g Works, Inc. v.
Simmons, 180 Colo. 309, 505 P.2d 966 (1973). Both the nature of the activity and
the manner in which the employee performs it must be reasonable. See Ray Bell
Const. Co. v. King, 281 Ga. 853, 642 S.E.2d 841 (2007).
In evaluating whether a worker has left the course of employment, we believe
the proper inquiry is whether the employee was pursuing normal creature comforts
and reasonably comprehended necessities or strictly personal amusement ventures.
Although distinguishing between reasonable personal ministrations and purely
personal amusement ventures may be difficult, courts have had little difficulty
denying compensation for unusual or unreasonable activities. See, e.g., E. Airlines
v. Rigdon, 543 So. 2d 822 (Fla. Dist. Ct. App. 1989) (denying compensation for
employee injured during skiing trip at resort over 50 miles from hotel); Buczynski,
934 P.2d 1169 (hot tub injury occurring in hotel 150 miles away from convention
center and days before convention not compensable).
There will, of course, be difficult cases where reasonable minds may differ.
Therefore, in order to provide guidance to the courts of this state we believe the
approach followed in Texas, which has a workers' compensation act similar to ours,
strikes the proper balance. See Shelton v. Standard Ins. Co., 389 S.W.2d 290 (Tex.
1965). The test used by Texas courts is whether the injury '"has its origin in a risk
created by the necessity of sleeping or eating away from home . . . .'" No. River
Ins. Co. v. Purdy, 733 S.W.2d 630, 632-33 (Tex. Ct. App. 1987) (alterations in
original) (quoting Shelton, 389 S.W.2d at 293). This test focuses the court's inquiry
upon whether the injury relates to a risk incidental to employment or from an
entirely independent act.
Given that the rationale of the traveling employee doctrine is that an
employee is entitled to increased coverage commensurate with the increased risk
associated with travel, in evaluating the compensability of injuries occurring off-
duty, the focus should be whether the injury is fairly attributable to the increased
risks of travel. Thus, we believe the standard for determining whether an activity is
a "distinct departure" should be consistent with the standard applicable to injuries
that occur on the jobsite, while the employee is not actually engaged in work, such
as during a rest break or lunch period. This is consistent with the reasoning of
decisions by this court, the Court of Appeals, and the Board.
The Board has recognized that an injury resulting from a wholly independent
act of the employee for his own benefit or gain, particularly where the employee's
act has no connection with the employee's work, is generally not compensable. See
Young v. Dep't of Labor & Indus., 200 Wash. 138, 93 P.2d 337 (1939). The Board
has observed, "[w]e believe the Legislature by enacting RCW 51.32.015 [extending
coverage to lunch period injuries on the jobsite] intended to give the same coverage
during the lunch hour as that applicable during the work period." In re Morrill, No.
29,704, Bd. of Indus. Ins. Appeals (Wash. Dec. 7, 1970). The Board's analysis is
sound and applies as well to the traveling employee doctrine.
The relevant inquiry for purposes of workers' compensation is whether the
injury is related to a risk of employment. A general reasonableness standard
without a finding of a connection to the employee's work would go too far in
covering the social and recreational activities of traveling employees. The injury
must have its origin in a travel related risk. A rule allowing coverage for all
reasonable activities untethers the concept of employment risk from the "course of
employment" analysis. Since the traveling employee doctrine is an exception to the
general rule that injury is not compensable when it occurs off the employer's
premises, when the worker is not actually engaging in work activity, coverage
should be limited to injuries fairly attributable to the risks of travel.
Application
Giovanelli Is a Traveling Employee
Applying the traveling employee doctrine to the facts of this case, we must
first determine whether Giovanelli falls within the category of "traveling employee."
There are two widely recognized definitions of a traveling employee. Under
Larson's formulation of the rule, a traveling employee is one "whose work entails
travel away from the employer's premises." 2 Larson & Larson, supra, § 25.01.
An alternate definition provides: "A traveling employee is one whose job requires
travel from place to place or to a place away from a permanent residence or the
employee's place of business." 2 John P. Ludington, Modern Workers
Compensation § 111:15 (Matthew J. Canavan ed., 1993).
The traveling salesperson and the long-haul truck driver are prototypical
examples of traveling employees. However, workers who have no fixed site of
employment or whose business is travel are not the only categories of employees
who fall within the definition. Traveling employees also include those on temporary
assignment at a fixed location.
Courts routinely apply the traveling employee doctrine to hourly wage
workers who travel to a fixed site to perform a job assignment of temporary
duration. This scenario frequently arises in the context of construction workers sent
to work on a discrete project. See, e.g., Brown v. Palmer Constr. Co., 295 A.2d
263 (Me. 1972). Courts have little difficulty treating itinerant construction workers
as traveling employees when the worker is required, as a condition of the
employment, to travel to a distant jobsite, away from home, and find overnight
lodging, particularly when the employer provides compensation for the worker's
travel expenses.
For example, in Olinger Construction Co. v. Mosbey, 427 N.E.2d 910 (Ind.
App. 1981), a construction worker was assigned to a jobsite 150 miles from his
home. He lived in a motel while working on the project where, one night, a former
co-worker entered his room and stabbed him. The Indiana court held that his death
was compensable. The court rejected the employer's argument that the traveling
employee rule was inapplicable to a worker assigned to a fixed jobsite for a job of
temporary duration, stating, "because of his job . . . his activities, such as eating and
sleeping in a distant location, are done for the benefit of the employer." Olinger,
427 N.E.2d at 915.
St. Gobain contends that Giovanelli should be treated as a "local hire" rather
than as a traveling employee. They contrast his situation with that of Ernie Peters, a
permanent St. Gobain employee who traveled from the corporate headquarters in
Muncie, Indiana to oversee the furnace rebuild. Unlike Peters, St. Gobain argues,
Giovanelli was not "required" to accept the work assignment in Seattle, but could
have elected to stay home.
A distinction based on whether an employee had the option to decline a work
assignment that entails travel would resurrect the assumption of risk doctrine, a tort
concept that is inapt in evaluating the compensability of a work-related injury.
Workers' compensation acts were in great part necessitated by the judicial
foreclosure of common law remedies for injured workers through application of the
assumption of risk doctrine. The adoption of the IIA represents the rejection of the
assumption of risk doctrine in favor of no fault insurance for work-related injuries.
No distinction may be drawn between an employee who volunteers for a job that
entails travel and one who is "required" by the employer to do so. The question is
whether the job assignment entails travel such that the risks of travel become part of
the risks of employment.
A more difficult issue is whether a worker who accepts a series of temporary
assignments, with breaks in between, can be viewed as a traveling employee. As
noted, there are two definitions of a "traveling employee." Giovanelli clearly
qualifies under the first definition, as "one whose job requires travel from place to
place or to a place away from a permanent residence or the employee's place of
business." 2 Modern Workers Compensation, supra, § 111:15. Giovanelli's job
assignment to Seattle required him to travel to a place away from his permanent
residence. In recognition of that fact, St. Gobain agreed not only to reimburse him
for his travel expenses, but also to compensate him for making the journey itself. It
paid him for his travel time to and from Seattle and a per diem during his entire stay
in Seattle, including his days off.
Under Larson's formulation, which is more widely relied upon by courts, a
traveling employee is one who travels "away from" an employer's premises. 2
Larson & Larson, supra, § 25.01. Viewing Giovanelli's Seattle-based job
assignment in isolation, he was hired to travel to, not away from, the employer's
premises, and thus falls outside the definition. However, considering the nature and
history of Giovanelli's employment relationship with St. Gobain, he qualifies as a
traveling employee even under Larson's more restrictive test.
Chicago Bridge & Iron v. Industrial Commission, 248 Ill. App. 3d 687, 618
N.E.2d 1143, 188 Ill. Dec. 573 (1993) involved an employee, like Giovanelli, who
worked at different jobsites on behalf of his employer to complete short-term
projects requiring his expertise. While en route to a job assignment, he was injured
in a traffic accident. In concluding the worker was entitled to coverage as a
traveling employee, the Illinois court considered the nature of the employment
relationship as a whole, rather than focusing narrowly on the particular job
assignment. In view of the worker's ongoing and exclusive relationship with the
employer, the court concluded that he qualified as a traveling employee,
notwithstanding the breaks in employment between job assignments.
Similarly, Atkins v. Workmen's Compensation Appeal Board, 651 A.2d 694
(Pa. Commw. 1994), involved a construction worker who was sent to jobsites in
different states to work on projects of limited duration. Based on a claim filed in
Pennsylvania for an injury while on a job in Georgia, the court concluded that the
worker's job was not principally localized anywhere in view of the worker's
ongoing relationship with his employer.
What Chicago Bridge and Atkins demonstrate is that in the context of
determining an injured worker's eligibility for workers' compensation, courts should
examine the nature of the employment relationship with a wide angle lens, rather
than narrowly focusing on a discrete job assignment or period of employment.
Accordingly, in evaluating whether Giovanelli is a traveling employee, the
proper focus is not Giovanelli's particular job assignment to St. Gobain's Seattle
plant, but his ongoing employment relationship with St. Gobain, the multinational
corporation, which has 18 glass manufacturing plants nationwide. Like the workers
in Chicago Bridge and Atkins, Giovanelli had an ongoing and exclusive employment
relationship with his employer. Giovanelli worked for St. Gobain more than 15
years, exclusively for the previous five years. His job assignments were coordinated
and travel expenses were authorized and reimbursed through St. Gobain's
headquarters in Muncie, Indiana. St. Gobain contemplated that Giovanelli would
return home after the Seattle job was finished, until it was time to travel to the next
scheduled furnace rebuild. For all of its furnace rebuilds, St. Gobain relied on
Giovanelli's skill and expertise to help ensure the expeditious completion of each
project. Failing to recognize Giovanelli as a traveling employee under the facts of
this case would be to elevate form over substance, contrary to the remedial purpose
of our IIA.
The record is clear: Giovanelli did not merely leave home to seek out better
employment. Rather, St. Gobain, through its agent, Sonny Champ, sought him out
at his Pennsylvania home and offered him a temporary assignment in Seattle just as
it had done numerous times over many years. The terms of the offer were that
Giovanelli would fly to Seattle on a specified date, after arranging his flight through
the corporate office in Indiana, receive travel pay as well as reimbursement of travel
expenses, enjoy the use of a company paid rental car, and receive a per diem to
defray the costs of food and lodging during his stay in Seattle.
St. Gobain contends that Giovanelli is not a traveling employee because it did
not compensate him for his travel expenses but merely offered "premium pay" as an
incentive to accept the Seattle job. It argues that treating Giovanelli as a traveling
employee dramatically expands liability every time an employer offers relocation
expenses or a housing subsidy. But this is not a case where Giovanelli was
relocating for a job; both St. Gobain and Giovanelli expected he would fly home at
the end of his assignment.
Giovanelli's willingness to travel from state to state to work on St. Gobain's
furnace rebuilds clearly benefited St. Gobain and furthered its business. St. Gobain
relied on Giovanelli, along with a small group of firebrick specialists, which it
designated "travelers," to provide the expertise necessary to allow it to
expeditiously complete a furnace rebuild. It is fair and proper to provide expanded
coverage commensurate with the expanded risks of employment faced by Giovanelli
and similarly situated "travelers" and to hold St. Gobain liable for injuries related to
the expanded risks of employment.
As a traveling employee, Giovanelli was "in the course of employment"
continuously during his trip. The next question is whether he "distinctly departed"
from the course of employment at the time of his injury.
Giovanelli Did Not Distinctly Depart on a Personal Errand
Although Giovanelli was not required to accompany his supervisor, Sonny
Champ, on a Sunday stroll, that does not mean he took himself outside the course of
employment by doing so.4 In determining whether there has been a "distinct
departure" that takes one outside the course of employment, courts analogize to the
"personal comfort" doctrine. Bergmann Precision, Inc. v. Indus. Comm'n, 199
Ariz. 164, 15 P.3d 276 (Ct. App. 2000). "Compensation in such areas is predicated
on the premise that these acts do not take the employee out of the scope of
employment because they are necessary to his health and comfort." N. & L. Auto
Parts Co. v. Doman, 111 So. 2d 270, 272 (Fla. Dist. Ct. App. 1959).
Under the personal comfort doctrine, a worker who engages in acts that
minister to personal comfort does not thereby leave the course of employment
unless the extent of the deviation is so substantial that an intent to abandon the job
temporarily may be inferred or the method chosen is so unusual and unreasonable
that the act cannot be considered incidental to the course of employment. 2 Larson
& Larson, supra, ch. 21. The personal comfort doctrine applies to such acts as
eating, resting, drinking, going to the bathroom, smoking, and seeking fresh air,
coolness, or warmth. 2 Larson & Larson, supra, §§ 21.02-.07.
This court has recognized the principle behind the doctrine. See, e.g., Tilly v.
Dep't of Labor & Indus., 52 Wn.2d 148, 324 P.2d 432 (1958) (employee remains
within the course of employment during a bathroom break). The personal comfort
doctrine has also long been applied by the Board. See, e.g., In re Cawley, No.
41,864, Bd. of Indus. Ins. Appeals (Wash. May 6, 1974) (allowing claim for worker
who choked on a piece of steak during lunch and died of asphyxiation).
The scope of activities covered by the personal comfort doctrine depends on
the particular circumstances of employment. A traveling employee is entitled to
broader coverage than a nontraveling employee because a traveling employee is in a
significantly different position of risk than a nontraveling employee. The
nontraveling employee may satisfy his personal needs without leaving the comfort of
home. In contrast, the traveling employee must face the perils of the street in order
to satisfy basic needs, including sleeping, eating, and seeking fresh air and exercise.
St. Gobain contends that Giovanelli was engaging in an "inherently
dangerous" activity at the time of his injury by crossing a multilane thoroughfare
without first assuring himself that he had the right of way. Seeking personal comfort
should fall outside the course of employment only if the method chosen is "unusual
or unreasonable." See 2 Larson & Larson, supra, § 21.08. The record here does
not support St. Gobain's assertion that Giovanelli walked against the light, and to
the extent Giovanelli's Sunday stroll was "inherently dangerous," as St. Gobain
contends, much of the risk can be attributed to the circumstances of his employment.
The hotel where he and the other "travelers" lodged was near SeaTac airport,
adjacent to International Boulevard, which, as St. Gobain correctly states, is a busy,
multilane thoroughfare. But for his need to lodge away from home during his job
assignment, he would not have been there.
The risk of getting injured while negotiating unfamiliar streets is among the
classic "street risks" covered by the traveling employee doctrine, along with hotel
fires and mishaps at restaurants. Under the street risk doctrine, injuries to
employees whose duties increase their exposure to the hazards of the street arise out
of employment. 1 Larson & Larson, supra, § 6.01. If the employment occasions
the worker's use of the street, the risks of the street become part of the risks of
employment. Accordingly, "when a traveling employee slips in the street, or is
struck by an automobile when traveling on foot or is involved in an accident while
driving between the hotel and a restaurant, the injury has been held compensable."
2 Larson & Larson, supra, § 25.03[1] (emphasis added) (footnotes omitted).
St. Gobain asserts that Giovanelli is not entitled to coverage because he was
not en route to a restaurant. Rather, St. Gobain contends that Giovanelli was
engaged in a "purely recreational activity" at the time of his injury, which has "no
business purpose." Yet the rationale of the personal comfort doctrine is that
ministering to one's personal comforts is not a "purely personal" activity because
attending to one's personal health and comfort furthers the employer's interest by
ensuring that an employee is healthy, well-rested, and comfortable, and thus able to
perform his or her job functions more efficiently. Giovanelli worked 14 hours per
day, six days per week. Going for a Sunday stroll on his single day off was a
reasonable activity that falls well within the personal comfort doctrine. As one court
observed:
To restrict [a traveling employee] to the confines of his room or place
of transacting business in his lodging place and hold that he is not
covered except when either actually, directly conducting his
employer's business or engaged in some activity which is strictly a
necessity of life, would unduly limit the intended beneficial purpose of
this remedial social insurance, which is to be liberally construed."
McDonald v. State Highway Dep't, 127 Ga. App. 171, 176, 192 S.E.2d 919
(1972).
In taking a Sunday stroll to the park on his single day off, Giovanelli did not
"distinctly depart" from the course of employment on a "personal errand." Neither
the nature of his activity nor the manner in which he engaged in it was unreasonable
or unusual. The risk of getting injured while crossing the street in front of his hotel
during a walk to the park was a risk of his employment. Accordingly, he is entitled
to compensation.
Providing coverage to St. Gobain's traveling employees is entirely
appropriate under our IIA. St. Gobain made the economic decision to use
"travelers" presumably because the value they bring to the project, in terms of
greater efficiency and quality of work product, more than offsets the increased costs
associated with their use. To the extent our decision increases St. Gobain's costs of
production by increasing its insurance premiums for the workers engaged in the
manufacture of glass containers at its plants, our IIA will operate as the legislature
intended.
* * *
http://www.courts.wa.gov/opinions/index.cfm?fa=opinions.showOpinion&filename=776555MAJ
prevailing view throughout the United States, is consistent with our IIA, and has
been applied by our statutorily created Board of Industrial Insurance Appeals and a
specialized corps of administrative law judges. Accordingly, we adopt the traveling
employee doctrine as an analytical tool to determine insurance coverage in this case.
Further, we hold that a traveling employee remains in the course of employment
except during a distinct departure on a personal errand. In evaluating the
compensability of injuries occurring off-duty, our focus is whether the injury is fairly
attributable to the increased risks of travel, given that the rationale of the traveling
employee doctrine is that an employee is entitled to increased coverage
commensurate with the increased risk associated with travel. The personal errand
doctrine and deviation analysis appropriate to nontraveling employees applies in
determining whether a traveling employee has distinctly departed from the course of
employment.
We affirm the Court of Appeals.
About This Case
What was the outcome of Ball-Foster Glass Container Co. v. Giovanelli?
The outcome was: Although new to this court, the traveling employee doctrine represents the prevailing view throughout the United States, is consistent with our IIA, and has been applied by our statutorily created Board of Industrial Insurance Appeals and a specialized corps of administrative law judges. Accordingly, we adopt the traveling employee doctrine as an analytical tool to determine insurance coverage in this case. Further, we hold that a traveling employee remains in the course of employment except during a distinct departure on a personal errand. In evaluating the compensability of injuries occurring off-duty, our focus is whether the injury is fairly attributable to the increased risks of travel, given that the rationale of the traveling employee doctrine is that an employee is entitled to increased coverage commensurate with the increased risk associated with travel. The personal errand doctrine and deviation analysis appropriate to nontraveling employees applies in determining whether a traveling employee has distinctly departed from the course of employment. We affirm the Court of Appeals.
Which court heard Ball-Foster Glass Container Co. v. Giovanelli?
This case was heard in Supreme Court of Washington on appeal from the Superior Court King County, WA. The presiding judge was Charles W. Johnson.
Who were the attorneys in Ball-Foster Glass Container Co. v. Giovanelli?
Plaintiff's attorney: Joseph Andrew Grube, Ricci Grube Aita & Breneman PLLC, Seattle, Washington Beverly Norwood Goetz, Office of The Attorney General, Seattle, Washington. Defendant's attorney: Amy L Arvidson, Keehn Kunkler PLLC, Seattle, Washington.
When was Ball-Foster Glass Container Co. v. Giovanelli decided?
This case was decided on February 11, 2008.