M ORE L AW
LEXAPEDIA
Salus Populi Suprema Lex Esto

Information
About MoreLaw
Contact MoreLaw

Please E-mail suggested additions, comments and/or corrections to Kent@MoreLaw.Com.

Help support the publication of case reports on MoreLaw

Date: 04-19-2013

Case Style: The People v. Rico Lyntice Riley

Case Number: 12F01244

Judge: Department 15

Court: Superior Court, Sacramento County, California

Plaintiff's Attorney: District Attorney's Office

Defendant's Attorney: Public Defender

Description: The People of the State of California charged Rico Lyntice Riley, age 31, with multiple sexual assault charges, including rape and tying up the female victim.

The woman was assaulted by Riley and one of her friends after she refused Riley's sexual advances, according to a Sacramento County District Attorney's Office news release. The friend eventually left the woman's apartment, but Riley stayed and continued to sexually assault her.

____________________________________

Section 240 to 248 of the California Penal Code provides:


240. An assault is an unlawful attempt, coupled with a present
ability, to commit a violent injury on the person of another.



241. (a) An assault is punishable by a fine not exceeding one
thousand dollars ($1,000), or by imprisonment in the county jail not
exceeding six months, or by both the fine and imprisonment.
(b) When an assault is committed against the person of a parking
control officer engaged in the performance of his or her duties, and
the person committing the offense knows or reasonably should know
that the victim is a parking control officer, the assault is
punishable by a fine not exceeding two thousand dollars ($2,000), or
by imprisonment in the county jail not exceeding six months, or by
both the fine and imprisonment.
(c) When an assault is committed against the person of a peace
officer, firefighter, emergency medical technician, mobile intensive
care paramedic, lifeguard, process server, traffic officer, code
enforcement officer, animal control officer, or search and rescue
member engaged in the performance of his or her duties, or a
physician or nurse engaged in rendering emergency medical care
outside a hospital, clinic, or other health care facility, and the
person committing the offense knows or reasonably should know that
the victim is a peace officer, firefighter, emergency medical
technician, mobile intensive care paramedic, lifeguard, process
server, traffic officer, code enforcement officer, animal control
officer, or search and rescue member engaged in the performance of
his or her duties, or a physician or nurse engaged in rendering
emergency medical care, the assault is punishable by a fine not
exceeding two thousand dollars ($2,000), or by imprisonment in a
county jail not exceeding one year, or by both the fine and
imprisonment.
(d) As used in this section, the following definitions apply:
(1) Peace officer means any person defined in Chapter 4.5
(commencing with Section 830) of Title 3 of Part 2.
(2) "Emergency medical technician" means a person possessing a
valid course completion certificate from a program approved by the
State Department of Health Care Services for the medical training and
education of ambulance personnel, and who meets the standards of
Division 2.5 (commencing with Section 1797) of the Health and Safety
Code.
(3) "Mobile intensive care paramedic" refers to those persons who
meet the standards set forth in Division 2.5 (commencing with Section
1797) of the Health and Safety Code.
(4) "Nurse" means a person who meets the standards of Division 2.5
(commencing with Section 1797) of the Health and Safety Code.
(5) "Lifeguard" means a person who is:
(A) Employed as a lifeguard by the state, a county, or a city, and
is designated by local ordinance as a public officer who has a duty
and responsibility to enforce local ordinances and misdemeanors
through the issuance of citations.
(B) Wearing distinctive clothing which includes written
identification of the person's status as a lifeguard and which
clearly identifies the employing organization.
(6) "Process server" means any person who meets the standards or
is expressly exempt from the standards set forth in Section 22350 of
the Business and Professions Code.
(7) "Traffic officer" means any person employed by a county or
city to monitor and enforce state laws and local ordinances relating
to parking and the operation of vehicles.
(8) "Animal control officer" means any person employed by a county
or city for purposes of enforcing animal control laws or
regulations.
(9) (A) "Code enforcement officer" means any person who is not
described in Chapter 4.5 (commencing with Section 830) of Title 3 of
Part 2 and who is employed by any governmental subdivision, public or
quasi-public corporation, public agency, public service corporation,
any town, city, county, or municipal corporation, whether
incorporated or chartered, that has enforcement authority for health,
safety, and welfare requirements, and whose duties include
enforcement of any statute, rules, regulations, or standards, and who
is authorized to issue citations, or file formal complaints.
(B) "Code enforcement officer" also includes any person who is
employed by the Department of Housing and Community Development who
has enforcement authority for health, safety, and welfare
requirements pursuant to the Employee Housing Act (Part 1 (commencing
with Section 17000) of Division 13 of the Health and Safety Code);
the State Housing Law (Part 1.5 (commencing with Section 17910) of
Division 13 of the Health and Safety Code); the Manufactured Housing
Act of 1980 (Part 2 (commencing with Section 18000) of Division 13 of
the Health and Safety Code); the Mobilehome Parks Act (Part 2.1
(commencing with Section 18200) of Division 13 of the Health and
Safety Code); and the Special Occupancy Parks Act (Part 2.3
(commencing with Section 18860) of Division 13 of the Health and
Safety Code).
(10) "Parking control officer" means any person employed by a
city, county, or city and county, to monitor and enforce state laws
and local ordinances relating to parking.
(11) "Search and rescue member" means any person who is part of an
organized search and rescue team managed by a governmental agency.




241.1. When an assault is committed against the person of a
custodial officer as defined in Section 831 or 831.5, and the person
committing the offense knows or reasonably should know that the
victim is a custodial officer engaged in the performance of his or
her duties, the offense shall be punished by imprisonment in the
county jail not exceeding one year or by imprisonment pursuant to
subdivision (h) of Section 1170.



241.2. (a) (1) When an assault is committed on school or park
property against any person, the assault is punishable by a fine not
exceeding two thousand dollars ($2,000), or by imprisonment in the
county jail not exceeding one year, or by both that fine and
imprisonment.
(2) When a violation of this section is committed by a minor on
school property, the court may, in addition to any other fine,
sentence, or as a condition of probation, order the minor to attend
counseling as deemed appropriate by the court at the expense of the
minor's parents. The court shall take into consideration the ability
of the minor's parents to pay, however, no minor shall be relieved of
attending counseling because of the minor's parents' inability to
pay for the counseling imposed by this section.
(b) "School," as used in this section, means any elementary
school, junior high school, four-year high school, senior high
school, adult school or any branch thereof, opportunity school,
continuation high school, regional occupational center, evening high
school, technical school, or community college.
(c) "Park," as used in this section, means any publicly maintained
or operated park. It does not include any facility when used for
professional sports or commercial events.


241.3. (a) When an assault is committed against any person on the
property of, or on a motor vehicle of, a public transportation
provider, the offense shall be punished by a fine not to exceed two
thousand dollars ($2,000), or by imprisonment in a county jail not to
exceed one year, or by both the fine and imprisonment.
(b) As used in this section, "public transportation provider"
means a publicly or privately owned entity that operates, for the
transportation of persons for hire, a bus, taxicab, streetcar, cable
car, trackless trolley, or other motor vehicle, including a vehicle
operated on stationary rails or on a track or rail suspended in air,
or that operates a schoolbus.
(c) As used in this section, "on the property of" means the entire
station where public transportation is available, including the
parking lot reserved for the public who utilize the transportation
system.



241.4. An assault is punishable by fine not exceeding one thousand
dollars ($1,000), or by imprisonment in the county jail not exceeding
six months, or by both. When the assault is committed against the
person of a peace officer engaged in the performance of his or her
duties as a member of a police department of a school district
pursuant to Section 38000 of the Education Code, and the person
committing the offense knows or reasonably should know that the
victim is a peace officer engaged in the performance of his or her
duties, the offense shall be punished by imprisonment in the county
jail not exceeding one year or by imprisonment pursuant to
subdivision (h) of Section 1170.



241.5. (a) When an assault is committed against a highway worker
engaged in the performance of his or her duties and the person
committing the offense knows or reasonably should know that the
victim is a highway worker engaged in the performance of his or her
duties, the offense shall be punishable by a fine not to exceed two
thousand dollars ($2,000) or by imprisonment in a county jail up to
one year or by both that fine and imprisonment.
(b) As used in this section, "highway worker" means an employee of
the Department of Transportation, a contractor or employee of a
contractor while working under contract with the Department of
Transportation, an employee of a city, county, or city and county, a
contractor or employee of a contractor while working under contract
with a city, county, or city and county, or a volunteer as defined in
Section 1720.4 of the Labor Code who does one or more of the
following:
(1) Performs maintenance, repair, or construction of state highway
or local street or road infrastructures and associated rights-of-way
in highway or local street or road work zones.
(2) Operates equipment on state highway or local street or road
infrastructures and associated rights-of-way in highway or local
street or road work zones.
(3) Performs any related maintenance work, as required, on state
highway or local street or road infrastructures in highway or local
street or road work zones.


241.6. When an assault is committed against a school employee
engaged in the performance of his or her duties, or in retaliation
for an act performed in the course of his or her duties, whether on
or off campus, during the schoolday or at any other time, and the
person committing the offense knows or reasonably should know the
victim is a school employee, the assault is punishable by
imprisonment in a county jail not exceeding one year, or by a fine
not exceeding two thousand dollars ($2,000), or by both the fine and
imprisonment.
For purposes of this section, "school employee" has the same
meaning as defined in subdivision (d) of Section 245.5.
This section shall not apply to conduct arising during the course
of an otherwise lawful labor dispute.



241.7. Any person who is a party to a civil or criminal action in
which a jury has been selected to try the case and who, while the
legal action is pending or after the conclusion of the trial, commits
an assault against any juror or alternate juror who was selected and
sworn in that legal action, shall be punished by a fine not to
exceed two thousand dollars ($2,000), or by imprisonment in the
county jail not exceeding one year, or by both such fine and
imprisonment, or by imprisonment pursuant to subdivision (h) of
Section 1170.


241.8. (a) Any person who commits an assault against a member of
the United States Armed Forces because of the victim's service in the
United States Armed Forces shall be punished by a fine not exceeding
two thousand dollars ($2,000), by imprisonment in a county jail for
a period not exceeding one year, or by both that fine and
imprisonment.
(b) "Because of" means that the bias motivation must be a cause in
fact of the assault, whether or not other causes exist. When
multiple concurrent motives exist, the prohibited bias must be a
substantial factor in bringing about the assault.



242. A battery is any willful and unlawful use of force or violence
upon the person of another.



243. (a) A battery is punishable by a fine not exceeding two
thousand dollars ($2,000), or by imprisonment in a county jail not
exceeding six months, or by both that fine and imprisonment.
(b) When a battery is committed against the person of a peace
officer, custodial officer, firefighter, emergency medical
technician, lifeguard, security officer, custody assistant, process
server, traffic officer, code enforcement officer, animal control
officer, or search and rescue member engaged in the performance of
his or her duties, whether on or off duty, including when the peace
officer is in a police uniform and is concurrently performing the
duties required of him or her as a peace officer while also employed
in a private capacity as a part-time or casual private security guard
or patrolman, or a nonsworn employee of a probation department
engaged in the performance of his or her duties, whether on or off
duty, or a physician or nurse engaged in rendering emergency medical
care outside a hospital, clinic, or other health care facility, and
the person committing the offense knows or reasonably should know
that the victim is a peace officer, custodial officer, firefighter,
emergency medical technician, lifeguard, security officer, custody
assistant, process server, traffic officer, code enforcement officer,
animal control officer, or search and rescue member engaged in the
performance of his or her duties, nonsworn employee of a probation
department, or a physician or nurse engaged in rendering emergency
medical care, the battery is punishable by a fine not exceeding two
thousand dollars ($2,000), or by imprisonment in a county jail not
exceeding one year, or by both that fine and imprisonment.
(c) (1) When a battery is committed against a custodial officer,
firefighter, emergency medical technician, lifeguard, process server,
traffic officer, or animal control officer engaged in the
performance of his or her duties, whether on or off duty, or a
nonsworn employee of a probation department engaged in the
performance of his or her duties, whether on or off duty, or a
physician or nurse engaged in rendering emergency medical care
outside a hospital, clinic, or other health care facility, and the
person committing the offense knows or reasonably should know that
the victim is a nonsworn employee of a probation department,
custodial officer, firefighter, emergency medical technician,
lifeguard, process server, traffic officer, or animal control officer
engaged in the performance of his or her duties, or a physician or
nurse engaged in rendering emergency medical care, and an injury is
inflicted on that victim, the battery is punishable by a fine of not
more than two thousand dollars ($2,000), by imprisonment in a county
jail not exceeding one year, or by both that fine and imprisonment,
or by imprisonment pursuant to subdivision (h) of Section 1170 for 16
months, or two or three years.
(2) When the battery specified in paragraph (1) is committed
against a peace officer engaged in the performance of his or her
duties, whether on or off duty, including when the peace officer is
in a police uniform and is concurrently performing the duties
required of him or her as a peace officer while also employed in a
private capacity as a part-time or casual private security guard or
patrolman and the person committing the offense knows or reasonably
should know that the victim is a peace officer engaged in the
performance of his or her duties, the battery is punishable by a fine
of not more than ten thousand dollars ($10,000), or by imprisonment
in a county jail not exceeding one year or pursuant to subdivision
(h) of Section 1170 for 16 months, or two or three years, or by both
that fine and imprisonment.
(d) When a battery is committed against any person and serious
bodily injury is inflicted on the person, the battery is punishable
by imprisonment in a county jail not exceeding one year or
imprisonment pursuant to subdivision (h) of Section 1170 for two,
three, or four years.
(e) (1) When a battery is committed against a spouse, a person
with whom the defendant is cohabiting, a person who is the parent of
the defendant's child, former spouse, fiancé, or fiancée, or a person
with whom the defendant currently has, or has previously had, a
dating or engagement relationship, the battery is punishable by a
fine not exceeding two thousand dollars ($2,000), or by imprisonment
in a county jail for a period of not more than one year, or by both
that fine and imprisonment. If probation is granted, or the execution
or imposition of the sentence is suspended, it shall be a condition
thereof that the defendant participate in, for no less than one year,
and successfully complete, a batterer's treatment program, as
described in Section 1203.097, or if none is available, another
appropriate counseling program designated by the court. However, this
provision shall not be construed as requiring a city, a county, or a
city and county to provide a new program or higher level of service
as contemplated by Section 6 of Article XIII B of the California
Constitution.
(2) Upon conviction of a violation of this subdivision, if
probation is granted, the conditions of probation may include, in
lieu of a fine, one or both of the following requirements:
(A) That the defendant make payments to a battered women's
shelter, up to a maximum of five thousand dollars ($5,000).
(B) That the defendant reimburse the victim for reasonable costs
of counseling and other reasonable expenses that the court finds are
the direct result of the defendant's offense.
For any order to pay a fine, make payments to a battered women's
shelter, or pay restitution as a condition of probation under this
subdivision, the court shall make a determination of the defendant's
ability to pay. In no event shall any order to make payments to a
battered women's shelter be made if it would impair the ability of
the defendant to pay direct restitution to the victim or
court-ordered child support. If the injury to a married person is
caused in whole or in part by the criminal acts of his or her spouse
in violation of this section, the community property shall not be
used to discharge the liability of the offending spouse for
restitution to the injured spouse, required by Section 1203.04, as
operative on or before August 2, 1995, or Section 1202.4, or to a
shelter for costs with regard to the injured spouse and dependents,
required by this section, until all separate property of the
offending spouse is exhausted.
(3) Upon conviction of a violation of this subdivision, if
probation is granted or the execution or imposition of the sentence
is suspended and the person has been previously convicted of a
violation of this subdivision and sentenced under paragraph (1), the
person shall be imprisoned for not less than 48 hours in addition to
the conditions in paragraph (1). However, the court, upon a showing
of good cause, may elect not to impose the mandatory minimum
imprisonment as required by this subdivision and may, under these
circumstances, grant probation or order the suspension of the
execution or imposition of the sentence.
(4) The Legislature finds and declares that these specified crimes
merit special consideration when imposing a sentence so as to
display society's condemnation for these crimes of violence upon
victims with whom a close relationship has been formed.
(5) If a peace officer makes an arrest for a violation of
paragraph (1) of subdivision (e) of this section, the peace officer
is not required to inform the victim of his or her right to make a
citizen's arrest pursuant to subdivision (b) of Section 836.
(f) As used in this section:
(1) "Peace officer" means any person defined in Chapter 4.5
(commencing with Section 830) of Title 3 of Part 2.
(2) "Emergency medical technician" means a person who is either an
EMT-I, EMT-II, or EMT-P (paramedic), and possesses a valid
certificate or license in accordance with the standards of Division
2.5 (commencing with Section 1797) of the Health and Safety Code.
(3) "Nurse" means a person who meets the standards of Division 2.5
(commencing with Section 1797) of the Health and Safety Code.
(4) "Serious bodily injury" means a serious impairment of physical
condition, including, but not limited to, the following: loss of
consciousness; concussion; bone fracture; protracted loss or
impairment of function of any bodily member or organ; a wound
requiring extensive suturing; and serious disfigurement.
(5) "Injury" means any physical injury which requires professional
medical treatment.
(6) "Custodial officer" means any person who has the
responsibilities and duties described in Section 831 and who is
employed by a law enforcement agency of any city or county or who
performs those duties as a volunteer.
(7) "Lifeguard" means a person defined in paragraph (5) of
subdivision (d) of Section 241.
(8) "Traffic officer" means any person employed by a city, county,
or city and county to monitor and enforce state laws and local
ordinances relating to parking and the operation of vehicles.
(9) "Animal control officer" means any person employed by a city,
county, or city and county for purposes of enforcing animal control
laws or regulations.
(10) "Dating relationship" means frequent, intimate associations
primarily characterized by the expectation of affectional or sexual
involvement independent of financial considerations.
(11) (A) "Code enforcement officer" means any person who is not
described in Chapter 4.5 (commencing with Section 830) of Title 3 of
Part 2 and who is employed by any governmental subdivision, public or
quasi-public corporation, public agency, public service corporation,
any town, city, county, or municipal corporation, whether
incorporated or chartered, who has enforcement authority for health,
safety, and welfare requirements, and whose duties include
enforcement of any statute, rules, regulations, or standards, and who
is authorized to issue citations, or file formal complaints.
(B) "Code enforcement officer" also includes any person who is
employed by the Department of Housing and Community Development who
has enforcement authority for health, safety, and welfare
requirements pursuant to the Employee Housing Act (Part 1 (commencing
with Section 17000) of Division 13 of the Health and Safety Code);
the State Housing Law (Part 1.5 (commencing with Section 17910) of
Division 13 of the Health and Safety Code); the Manufactured Housing
Act of 1980 (Part 2 (commencing with Section 18000) of Division 13 of
the Health and Safety Code); the Mobilehome Parks Act (Part 2.1
(commencing with Section 18200) of Division 13 of the Health and
Safety Code); and the Special Occupancy Parks Act (Part 2.3
(commencing with Section 18860) of Division 13 of the Health and
Safety Code).
(12) "Custody assistant" means any person who has the
responsibilities and duties described in Section 831.7 and who is
employed by a law enforcement agency of any city, county, or city and
county.
(13) "Search and rescue member" means any person who is part of an
organized search and rescue team managed by a government agency.
(14) "Security officer" means any person who has the
responsibilities and duties described in Section 831.4 and who is
employed by a law enforcement agency of any city, county, or city and
county.
(g) It is the intent of the Legislature by amendments to this
section at the 1981-82 and 1983-84 Regular Sessions to abrogate the
holdings in cases such as People v. Corey, 21 Cal. 3d 738, and
Cervantez v. J.C. Penney Co., 24 Cal. 3d 579, and to reinstate prior
judicial interpretations of this section as they relate to criminal
sanctions for battery on peace officers who are employed, on a
part-time or casual basis, while wearing a police uniform as private
security guards or patrolmen and to allow the exercise of peace
officer powers concurrently with that employment.



243.1. When a battery is committed against the person of a
custodial officer as defined in Section 831 of the Penal Code, and
the person committing the offense knows or reasonably should know
that the victim is a custodial officer engaged in the performance of
his or her duties, and the custodial officer is engaged in the
performance of his or her duties, the offense shall be punished by
imprisonment pursuant to subdivision (h) of Section 1170.



243.2. (a) (1) Except as otherwise provided in Section 243.6, when
a battery is committed on school property, park property, or the
grounds of a public or private hospital, against any person, the
battery is punishable by a fine not exceeding two thousand dollars
($2,000), or by imprisonment in the county jail not exceeding one
year, or by both the fine and imprisonment.
(2) When a violation of this section is committed by a minor on
school property, the court may, in addition to any other fine,
sentence, or as a condition of probation, order the minor to attend
counseling as deemed appropriate by the court at the expense of the
minor's parents. The court shall take into consideration the ability
of the minor's parents to pay, however, no minor shall be relieved of
attending counseling because of the minor's parents' inability to
pay for the counseling imposed by this section.
(b) For the purposes of this section, the following terms have the
following meanings:
(1) "Hospital" means a facility for the diagnosis, care, and
treatment of human illness that is subject to, or specifically
exempted from, the licensure requirements of Chapter 2 (commencing
with Section 1250) of Division 2 of the Health and Safety Code.
(2) "Park" means any publicly maintained or operated park. It does
not include any facility when used for professional sports or
commercial events.
(3) "School" means any elementary school, junior high school,
four-year high school, senior high school, adult school or any branch
thereof, opportunity school, continuation high school, regional
occupational center, evening high school, technical school, or
community college.
(c) This section shall not apply to conduct arising during the
course of an otherwise lawful labor dispute.



243.25. When a battery is committed against the person of an elder
or a dependent adult as defined in Section 368, with knowledge that
he or she is an elder or a dependent adult, the offense shall be
punishable by a fine not to exceed two thousand dollars ($2,000), or
by imprisonment in a county jail not to exceed one year, or by both
that fine and imprisonment.



243.3. When a battery is committed against the person of an
operator, driver, or passenger on a bus, taxicab, streetcar, cable
car, trackless trolley, or other motor vehicle, including a vehicle
operated on stationary rails or on a track or rail suspended in the
air, used for the transportation of persons for hire, or against a
schoolbus driver, or against the person of a station agent or ticket
agent for the entity providing the transportation, and the person who
commits the offense knows or reasonably should know that the victim,
in the case of an operator, driver, or agent, is engaged in the
performance of his or her duties, or is a passenger the offense shall
be punished by a fine not exceeding ten thousand dollars ($10,000),
or by imprisonment in a county jail not exceeding one year, or by
both that fine and imprisonment. If an injury is inflicted on that
victim, the offense shall be punished by a fine not exceeding ten
thousand dollars ($10,000), or by imprisonment in a county jail not
exceeding one year or in the state prison for 16 months, or two or
three years, or by both that fine and imprisonment.




243.35. (a) Except as provided in Section 243.3, when a battery is
committed against any person on the property of, or in a motor
vehicle of, a public transportation provider, the offense shall be
punished by a fine not to exceed two thousand dollars ($2,000), or by
imprisonment in a county jail not to exceed one year, or by both the
fine and imprisonment.
(b) As used in this section, "public transportation provider"
means a publicly or privately owned entity that operates, for the
transportation of persons for hire, a bus, taxicab, streetcar, cable
car, trackless trolley, or other motor vehicle, including a vehicle
operated on stationary rails or on a track or rail suspended in air,
or that operates a schoolbus.
(c) As used in this section, "on the property of" means the entire
station where public transportation is available, including the
parking lot reserved for the public who utilize the transportation
system.


243.4. (a) Any person who touches an intimate part of another
person while that person is unlawfully restrained by the accused or
an accomplice, and if the touching is against the will of the person
touched and is for the purpose of sexual arousal, sexual
gratification, or sexual abuse, is guilty of sexual battery. A
violation of this subdivision is punishable by imprisonment in a
county jail for not more than one year, and by a fine not exceeding
two thousand dollars ($2,000); or by imprisonment in the state prison
for two, three, or four years, and by a fine not exceeding ten
thousand dollars ($10,000).
(b) Any person who touches an intimate part of another person who
is institutionalized for medical treatment and who is seriously
disabled or medically incapacitated, if the touching is against the
will of the person touched, and if the touching is for the purpose of
sexual arousal, sexual gratification, or sexual abuse, is guilty of
sexual battery. A violation of this subdivision is punishable by
imprisonment in a county jail for not more than one year, and by a
fine not exceeding two thousand dollars ($2,000); or by imprisonment
in the state prison for two, three, or four years, and by a fine not
exceeding ten thousand dollars ($10,000).
(c) Any person who touches an intimate part of another person for
the purpose of sexual arousal, sexual gratification, or sexual abuse,
and the victim is at the time unconscious of the nature of the act
because the perpetrator fraudulently represented that the touching
served a professional purpose, is guilty of sexual battery. A
violation of this subdivision is punishable by imprisonment in a
county jail for not more than one year, and by a fine not exceeding
two thousand dollars ($2,000); or by imprisonment in the state prison
for two, three, or four years, and by a fine not exceeding ten
thousand dollars ($10,000).
(d) Any person who, for the purpose of sexual arousal, sexual
gratification, or sexual abuse, causes another, against that person's
will while that person is unlawfully restrained either by the
accused or an accomplice, or is institutionalized for medical
treatment and is seriously disabled or medically incapacitated, to
masturbate or touch an intimate part of either of those persons or a
third person, is guilty of sexual battery. A violation of this
subdivision is punishable by imprisonment in a county jail for not
more than one year, and by a fine not exceeding two thousand dollars
($2,000); or by imprisonment in the state prison for two, three, or
four years, and by a fine not exceeding ten thousand dollars
($10,000).
(e) (1) Any person who touches an intimate part of another person,
if the touching is against the will of the person touched, and is
for the specific purpose of sexual arousal, sexual gratification, or
sexual abuse, is guilty of misdemeanor sexual battery, punishable by
a fine not exceeding two thousand dollars ($2,000), or by
imprisonment in a county jail not exceeding six months, or by both
that fine and imprisonment. However, if the defendant was an employer
and the victim was an employee of the defendant, the misdemeanor
sexual battery shall be punishable by a fine not exceeding three
thousand dollars ($3,000), by imprisonment in a county jail not
exceeding six months, or by both that fine and imprisonment.
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, any amount of a fine
above two thousand dollars ($2,000) which is collected from a
defendant for a violation of this subdivision shall be transmitted to
the State Treasury and, upon appropriation by the Legislature,
distributed to the Department of Fair Employment and Housing for the
purpose of enforcement of the California Fair Employment and Housing
Act (Part 2.8 (commencing with Section 12900) of Division 3 of Title
2 of the Government Code), including, but not limited to, laws that
proscribe sexual harassment in places of employment. However, in no
event shall an amount over two thousand dollars ($2,000) be
transmitted to the State Treasury until all fines, including any
restitution fines that may have been imposed upon the defendant, have
been paid in full.
(2) As used in this subdivision, "touches" means physical contact
with another person, whether accomplished directly, through the
clothing of the person committing the offense, or through the
clothing of the victim.
(f) As used in subdivisions (a), (b), (c), and (d), "touches"
means physical contact with the skin of another person whether
accomplished directly or through the clothing of the person
committing the offense.
(g) As used in this section, the following terms have the
following meanings:
(1) "Intimate part" means the sexual organ, anus, groin, or
buttocks of any person, and the breast of a female.
(2) "Sexual battery" does not include the crimes defined in
Section 261 or 289.
(3) "Seriously disabled" means a person with severe physical or
sensory disabilities.
(4) "Medically incapacitated" means a person who is incapacitated
as a result of prescribed sedatives, anesthesia, or other medication.
(5) "Institutionalized" means a person who is located voluntarily
or involuntarily in a hospital, medical treatment facility, nursing
home, acute care facility, or mental hospital.
(6) "Minor" means a person under 18 years of age.
(h) This section shall not be construed to limit or prevent
prosecution under any other law which also proscribes a course of
conduct that also is proscribed by this section.
(i) In the case of a felony conviction for a violation of this
section, the fact that the defendant was an employer and the victim
was an employee of the defendant shall be a factor in aggravation in
sentencing.
(j) A person who commits a violation of subdivision (a), (b), (c),
or (d) against a minor when the person has a prior felony conviction
for a violation of this section shall be guilty of a felony,
punishable by imprisonment in the state prison for two, three, or
four years and a fine not exceeding ten thousand dollars ($10,000).



243.5. (a) When a person commits an assault or battery on school
property during hours when school activities are being conducted, a
peace officer may, without a warrant, notwithstanding paragraph (2)
or (3) of subdivision (a) of Section 836, arrest the person who
commits the assault or battery:
(1) Whenever the person has committed the assault or battery,
although not in the peace officer's presence.
(2) Whenever the peace officer has reasonable cause to believe
that the person to be arrested has committed the assault or battery,
whether or not it has in fact been committed.
(b) "School," as used in this section, means any elementary
school, junior high school, four-year high school, senior high
school, adult school or any branch thereof, opportunity school,
continuation high school, regional occupational center, evening high
school, technical school, or community college.



243.6. When a battery is committed against a school employee
engaged in the performance of his or her duties, or in retaliation
for an act performed in the course of his or her duties, whether on
or off campus, during the schoolday or at any other time, and the
person committing the offense knows or reasonably should know that
the victim is a school employee, the battery is punishable by
imprisonment in a county jail not exceeding one year, or by a fine
not exceeding two thousand dollars ($2,000), or by both the fine and
imprisonment. However, if an injury is inflicted on the victim, the
battery shall be punishable by imprisonment in a county jail for not
more than one year, or by a fine of not more than two thousand
dollars ($2,000), or by imprisonment pursuant to subdivision (h) of
Section 1170 for 16 months, or two or three years.
For purposes of this section, "school employee" has the same
meaning as defined in subdivision (d) of Section 245.5.
This section shall not apply to conduct arising during the course
of an otherwise lawful labor dispute.



243.65. (a) When a battery is committed against the person of a
highway worker engaged in the performance of his or her duties and
the person committing the offense knows or reasonably should know
that the victim is a highway worker engaged in the performance of his
or her duties, the offense shall be punished by a fine not exceeding
two thousand dollars ($2,000), or by imprisonment in a county jail
not exceeding one year, or by both that fine and imprisonment.
(b) As used in this section, "highway worker" means an employee of
the Department of Transportation, a contractor or employee of a
contractor while working under contract with the Department of
Transportation, an employee of a city, county, or city and county, a
contractor or employee of a contractor while working under contract
with a city, county, or city and county, or a volunteer as defined in
Section 1720.4 of the Labor Code who does one or more of the
following:
(1) Performs maintenance, repair, or construction of state highway
or local street or road infrastructures and associated rights-of-way
in highway or local street or road work zones.
(2) Operates equipment on state highway or local street or road
infrastructures and associated rights-of-way in highway or local
street or road work zones.
(3) Performs any related maintenance work, as required, on state
highway or local street or road infrastructures in highway or local
street or road work zones.



243.7. Any person who is a party to a civil or criminal action in
which a jury has been selected to try the case and who, while the
legal action is pending or after the conclusion of the trial commits
a battery against any juror or alternate juror who was selected and
sworn in that legal action shall be punished by a fine not to exceed
five thousand dollars ($5,000), or by imprisonment in the county jail
not exceeding one year, or by both such fine and imprisonment, or by
the imprisonment in the state prison for 16 months, or for two or
three years.


243.8. (a) When a battery is committed against a sports official
immediately prior to, during, or immediately following an
interscholastic, intercollegiate, or any other organized amateur or
professional athletic contest in which the sports official is
participating, and the person who commits the offense knows or
reasonably should know that the victim is engaged in the performance
of his or her duties, the offense shall be punishable by a fine not
exceeding two thousand dollars ($2,000), or by imprisonment in the
county jail not exceeding one year, or by both that fine and
imprisonment.
(b) For purposes of this section, "sports official" means any
individual who serves as a referee, umpire, linesman, or who serves
in a similar capacity but may be known by a different title or name
and is duly registered by, or a member of, a local, state, regional,
or national organization engaged in part in providing education and
training to sports officials.



243.83. (a) It is unlawful for any person attending a professional
sporting event to do any of the following:
(1) Throw any object on or across the court or field of play with
the intent to interfere with play or distract a player.
(2) Enter upon the court or field of play without permission from
an authorized person any time after the authorized participants of
play have entered the court or field to begin the sporting event and
until the participants of play have completed the playing time of the
sporting event.
(b) (1) The owner of the facility in which a professional sporting
event is to be held shall provide a notice specifying the unlawful
activity prohibited by this section and the punishment for engaging
in that prohibited activity.
(2) The notice shall be prominently displayed throughout the
facility or may be provided by some other manner, such as on a big
screen or by a general public announcement. In addition, notice shall
be posted at all controlled entry areas of the sporting facility.
(3) Failure to provide the notice shall not be a defense to a
violation of this section.
(c) For the purposes of this section, the following terms have the
following meanings:
(1) "Player" includes any authorized participant of play,
including, but not limited to, team members, referees however
designated, and support staff, whether or not any of those persons
receive compensation.
(2) "Professional sporting event" means a scheduled sporting event
involving a professional sports team or organization or a
professional athlete for which an admission fee is charged to the
public.
(d) A violation of subdivision (a) is an infraction punishable by
a fine not exceeding two hundred fifty dollars ($250). The fine shall
not be subject to penalty assessments as provided in Section 1464 or
1465.7 of this code or Section 76000 of the Government Code.
(e) This section shall apply to attendees at professional sporting
events; this section shall not apply to players or to sports
officials, as defined in Section 243.8.
(f) Nothing in this section shall be construed to limit or prevent
prosecution under any applicable provision of law.



243.85. The owner of any professional sports facility shall post,
visible from a majority of the seating in the stands at all times, at
controlled entry areas, and at parking facilities that are part of
the professional sports facility, written notices displaying the text
message number and telephone number to contact security in order to
report a violent act.



243.9. (a) Every person confined in any local detention facility
who commits a battery by gassing upon the person of any peace
officer, as defined in Chapter 4.5 (commencing with Section 830) of
Title 3 of Part 2, or employee of the local detention facility is
guilty of aggravated battery and shall be punished by imprisonment in
a county jail or by imprisonment in the state prison for two, three,
or four years.
(b) For purposes of this section, "gassing" means intentionally
placing or throwing, or causing to be placed or thrown, upon the
person of another, any human excrement or other bodily fluids or
bodily substances or any mixture containing human excrement or other
bodily fluids or bodily substances that results in actual contact
with the person's skin or membranes.
(c) The person in charge of the local detention facility shall use
every available means to immediately investigate all reported or
suspected violations of subdivision (a), including, but not limited
to, the use of forensically acceptable means of preserving and
testing the suspected gassing substance to confirm the presence of
human excrement or other bodily fluids or bodily substances. If there
is probable cause to believe that the inmate has violated
subdivision (a), the chief medical officer of the local detention
facility, or his or her designee, may, when he or she deems it
medically necessary to protect the health of an officer or employee
who may have been subject to a violation of this section, order the
inmate to receive an examination or test for hepatitis or
tuberculosis or both hepatitis and tuberculosis on either a voluntary
or involuntary basis immediately after the event, and periodically
thereafter as determined to be necessary by the medical officer in
order to ensure that further hepatitis or tuberculosis transmission
does not occur. These decisions shall be consistent with an
occupational exposure as defined by the Center for Disease Control
and Prevention. The results of any examination or test shall be
provided to the officer or employee who has been subject to a
reported or suspected violation of this section. Nothing in this
subdivision shall be construed to otherwise supersede the operation
of Title 8 (commencing with Section 7500). Any person performing
tests, transmitting test results, or disclosing information pursuant
to this section shall be immune from civil liability for any action
taken in accordance with this section.
(d) The person in charge of the local detention facility shall
refer all reports for which there is probable cause to believe that
the inmate has violated subdivision (a) to the local district
attorney for prosecution.
(e) Nothing in this section shall preclude prosecution under both
this section and any other provision of law.




243.10. (a) Any person who commits a battery against a member of
the United States Armed Forces because of the victim's service in the
United States Armed Forces shall be punished by a fine not exceeding
two thousand dollars ($2,000), by imprisonment in a county jail for
a period not exceeding one year, or by both that fine and
imprisonment.
(b) "Because of" means that the bias motivation must be a cause in
fact of the battery, whether or not other causes exist. When
multiple concurrent motives exist, the prohibited bias must be a
substantial factor in bringing about the battery.



244. Any person who willfully and maliciously places or throws, or
causes to be placed or thrown, upon the person of another, any
vitriol, corrosive acid, flammable substance, or caustic chemical of
any nature, with the intent to injure the flesh or disfigure the body
of that person, is punishable by imprisonment in the state prison
for two, three or four years.
As used in this section, "flammable substance" means gasoline,
petroleum products, or flammable liquids with a flashpoint of 150
degrees Fahrenheit or less.



244.5. (a) As used in this section, "stun gun" means any item,
except a less lethal weapon, as defined in Section 16780, used or
intended to be used as either an offensive or defensive weapon that
is capable of temporarily immobilizing a person by the infliction of
an electrical charge.
(b) Every person who commits an assault upon the person of another
with a stun gun or less lethal weapon, as defined in Section 16780,
shall be punished by imprisonment in a county jail for a term not
exceeding one year, or by imprisonment pursuant to subdivision (h) of
Section 1170 for 16 months, two, or three years.
(c) Every person who commits an assault upon the person of a peace
officer or firefighter with a stun gun or less lethal weapon, as
defined in Section 16780, who knows or reasonably should know that
the person is a peace officer or firefighter engaged in the
performance of his or her duties, when the peace officer or
firefighter is engaged in the performance of his or her duties, shall
be punished by imprisonment in the county jail for a term not
exceeding one year, or by imprisonment pursuant to subdivision (h) of
Section 1170 for two, three, or four years.
(d) This section shall not be construed to preclude or in any way
limit the applicability of Section 245 in any criminal prosecution.



245. (a) (1) Any person who commits an assault upon the person of
another with a deadly weapon or instrument other than a firearm or by
any means of force likely to produce great bodily injury shall be
punished by imprisonment in the state prison for two, three, or four
years, or in a county jail for not exceeding one year, or by a fine
not exceeding ten thousand dollars ($10,000), or by both the fine and
imprisonment.
(2) Any person who commits an assault upon the person of another
with a firearm shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison
for two, three, or four years, or in a county jail for not less than
six months and not exceeding one year, or by both a fine not
exceeding ten thousand dollars ($10,000) and imprisonment.
(3) Any person who commits an assault upon the person of another
with a machinegun, as defined in Section 16880, or an assault weapon,
as defined in Section 30510 or 30515, or a .50 BMG rifle, as defined
in Section 30530, shall be punished by imprisonment in the state
prison for 4, 8, or 12 years.
(b) Any person who commits an assault upon the person of another
with a semiautomatic firearm shall be punished by imprisonment in the
state prison for three, six, or nine years.
(c) Any person who commits an assault with a deadly weapon or
instrument, other than a firearm, or by any means likely to produce
great bodily injury upon the person of a peace officer or
firefighter, and who knows or reasonably should know that the victim
is a peace officer or firefighter engaged in the performance of his
or her duties, when the peace officer or firefighter is engaged in
the performance of his or her duties, shall be punished by
imprisonment in the state prison for three, four, or five years.
(d) (1) Any person who commits an assault with a firearm upon the
person of a peace officer or firefighter, and who knows or reasonably
should know that the victim is a peace officer or firefighter
engaged in the performance of his or her duties, when the peace
officer or firefighter is engaged in the performance of his or her
duties, shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for
four, six, or eight years.
(2) Any person who commits an assault upon the person of a peace
officer or firefighter with a semiautomatic firearm and who knows or
reasonably should know that the victim is a peace officer or
firefighter engaged in the performance of his or her duties, when the
peace officer or firefighter is engaged in the performance of his or
her duties, shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison
for five, seven, or nine years.
(3) Any person who commits an assault with a machinegun, as
defined in Section 16880, or an assault weapon, as defined in Section
30510 or 30515, or a .50 BMG rifle, as defined in Section 30530,
upon the person of a peace officer or firefighter, and who knows or
reasonably should know that the victim is a peace officer or
firefighter engaged in the performance of his or her duties, shall be
punished by imprisonment in the state prison for 6, 9, or 12 years.
(e) When a person is convicted of a violation of this section in a
case involving use of a deadly weapon or instrument or firearm, and
the weapon or instrument or firearm is owned by that person, the
court shall order that the weapon or instrument or firearm be deemed
a nuisance, and it shall be confiscated and disposed of in the manner
provided by Sections 18000 and 18005.
(f) As used in this section, "peace officer" refers to any person
designated as a peace officer in Chapter 4.5 (commencing with Section
830) of Title 3 of Part 2.



245. (a) (1) Any person who commits an assault upon the person of
another with a deadly weapon or instrument other than a firearm shall
be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for two, three, or
four years, or in a county jail for not exceeding one year, or by a
fine not exceeding ten thousand dollars ($10,000), or by both the
fine and imprisonment.
(2) Any person who commits an assault upon the person of another
with a firearm shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison
for two, three, or four years, or in a county jail for not less than
six months and not exceeding one year, or by both a fine not
exceeding ten thousand dollars ($10,000) and imprisonment.
(3) Any person who commits an assault upon the person of another
with a machinegun, as defined in Section 16880, or an assault weapon,
as defined in Section 30510 or 30515, or a .50 BMG rifle, as defined
in Section 30530, shall be punished by imprisonment in the state
prison for 4, 8, or 12 years.
(4) Any person who commits an assault upon the person of another
by any means of force likely to produce great bodily injury shall be
punished by imprisonment in the state prison for two, three, or four
years, or in a county jail for not exceeding one year, or by a fine
not exceeding ten thousand dollars ($10,000), or by both the fine and
imprisonment.
(b) Any person who commits an assault upon the person of another
with a semiautomatic firearm shall be punished by imprisonment in the
state prison for three, six, or nine years.
(c) Any person who commits an assault with a deadly weapon or
instrument, other than a firearm, or by any means likely to produce
great bodily injury upon the person of a peace officer or
firefighter, and who knows or reasonably should know that the victim
is a peace officer or firefighter engaged in the performance of his
or her duties, when the peace officer or firefighter is engaged in
the performance of his or her duties, shall be punished by
imprisonment in the state prison for three, four, or five years.
(d) (1) Any person who commits an assault with a firearm upon the
person of a peace officer or firefighter, and who knows or reasonably
should know that the victim is a peace officer or firefighter
engaged in the performance of his or her duties, when the peace
officer or firefighter is engaged in the performance of his or her
duties, shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for
four, six, or eight years.
(2) Any person who commits an assault upon the person of a peace
officer or firefighter with a semiautomatic firearm and who knows or
reasonably should know that the victim is a peace officer or
firefighter engaged in the performance of his or her duties, when the
peace officer or firefighter is engaged in the performance of his or
her duties, shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison
for five, seven, or nine years.
(3) Any person who commits an assault with a machinegun, as
defined in Section 16880, or an assault weapon, as defined in Section
30510 or 30515, or a .50 BMG rifle, as defined in Section 30530,
upon the person of a peace officer or firefighter, and who knows or
reasonably should know that the victim is a peace officer or
firefighter engaged in the performance of his or her duties, shall be
punished by imprisonment in the state prison for 6, 9, or 12 years.
(e) When a person is convicted of a violation of this section in a
case involving use of a deadly weapon or instrument or firearm, and
the weapon or instrument or firearm is owned by that person, the
court shall order that the weapon or instrument or firearm be deemed
a nuisance, and it shall be confiscated and disposed of in the manner
provided by Sections 18000 and 18005.
(f) As used in this section, "peace officer" refers to any person
designated as a peace officer in Chapter 4.5 (commencing with Section
830) of Title 3 of Part 2.


245.1. As used in Sections 148.2, 241, 243, 244.5, and 245,
"fireman" or "firefighter" includes any person who is an officer,
employee or member of a fire department or fire protection or
firefighting agency of the federal government, the State of
California, a city, county, city and county, district, or other
public or municipal corporation or political subdivision of this
state, whether this person is a volunteer or partly paid or fully
paid.
As used in Section 148.2, "emergency rescue personnel" means any
person who is an officer, employee or member of a fire department or
fire protection or firefighting agency of the federal government, the
State of California, a city, county, city and county, district, or
other public or municipal corporation or political subdivision of
this state, whether this person is a volunteer or partly paid or
fully paid, while he or she is actually engaged in the on-the-site
rescue of persons or property during an emergency as defined by
subdivision (c) of Section 148.3.



245.2. Every person who commits an assault with a deadly weapon or
instrument or by any means of force likely to produce great bodily
injury upon the person of an operator, driver, or passenger on a bus,
taxicab, streetcar, cable car, trackless trolley, or other motor
vehicle, including a vehicle operated on stationary rails or on a
track or rail suspended in the air, used for the transportation of
persons for hire, or upon the person of a station agent or ticket
agent for the entity providing such transportation, when the driver,
operator, or agent is engaged in the performance of his or her
duties, and where the person who commits the assault knows or
reasonably should know that the victim is engaged in the performance
of his or her duties, or is a passenger, shall be punished by
imprisonment in the state prison for three, four, or five years.



245.3. Every person who commits an assault with a deadly weapon or
instrument or by any means likely to produce great bodily injury upon
the person of a custodial officer as defined in Section 831 or
831.5, and who knows or reasonably should know that the victim is a
custodial officer engaged in the performance of that person's duties,
shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for three,
four, or five years.
When a person is convicted of a violation of this section in a
case involving use of a deadly weapon or instrument, and such weapon
or instrument is owned by that person, the court may, in its
discretion, order that the weapon or instrument be deemed a nuisance
and shall be confiscated and destroyed in the manner provided by
Sections 18000 and 18005.


245.5. (a) Every person who commits an assault with a deadly weapon
or instrument, other than a firearm, or by any means likely to
produce great bodily injury upon the person of a school employee, and
who knows or reasonably should know that the victim is a school
employee engaged in the performance of his or her duties, when that
school employee is engaged in the performance of his or her duties,
shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for three,
four, or five years, or in a county jail not exceeding one year.
(b) Every person who commits an assault with a firearm upon the
person of a school employee, and who knows or reasonably should know
that the victim is a school employee engaged in the performance of
his or her duties, when the school employee is engaged in the
performance of his or her duties, shall be punished by imprisonment
in the state prison for four, six, or eight years, or in a county
jail for not less than six months and not exceeding one year.
(c) Every person who commits an assault upon the person of a
school employee with a stun gun or taser, and who knows or reasonably
should know that the person is a school employee engaged in the
performance of his or her duties, when the school employee is engaged
in the performance of his or her duties, shall be punished by
imprisonment in a county jail for a term not exceeding one year or by
imprisonment in the state prison for two, three, or four years.
This subdivision shall not be construed to preclude or in any way
limit the applicability of Section 245 in any criminal prosecution.
(d) As used in the section, "school employee" means any person
employed as a permanent or probationary certificated or classified
employee of a school district on a part-time or full-time basis,
including a substitute teacher. "School employee," as used in this
section, also includes a student teacher, or a school board member.
"School," as used in this section, has the same meaning as that term
is defined in Section 626.



245.6. (a) It shall be unlawful to engage in hazing, as defined in
this section.
(b) "Hazing" means any method of initiation or preinitiation into
a student organization or student body, whether or not the
organization or body is officially recognized by an educational
institution, which is likely to cause serious bodily injury to any
former, current, or prospective student of any school, community
college, college, university, or other educational institution in
this state. The term "hazing" does not include customary athletic
events or school-sanctioned events.
(c) A violation of this section that does not result in serious
bodily injury is a misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of not less than
one hundred dollars ($100), nor more than five thousand dollars
($5,000), or imprisonment in the county jail for not more than one
year, or both.
(d) Any person who personally engages in hazing that results in
death or serious bodily injury as defined in paragraph (4) of
subdivision (f) of Section 243 of the Penal Code, is guilty of either
a misdemeanor or a felony, and shall be punished by imprisonment in
county jail not exceeding one year, or by imprisonment pursuant to
subdivision (h) of Section 1170.
(e) The person against whom the hazing is directed may commence a
civil action for injury or damages. The action may be brought against
any participants in the hazing, or any organization to which the
student is seeking membership whose agents, directors, trustees,
managers, or officers authorized, requested, commanded, participated
in, or ratified the hazing.
(f) Prosecution under this section shall not prohibit prosecution
under any other provision of law.



246. Any person who shall maliciously and willfully discharge a
firearm at an inhabited dwelling house, occupied building, occupied
motor vehicle, occupied aircraft, inhabited housecar, as defined in
Section 362 of the Vehicle Code, or inhabited camper, as defined in
Section 243 of the Vehicle Code, is guilty of a felony, and upon
conviction shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for
three, five, or seven years, or by imprisonment in the county jail
for a term of not less than six months and not exceeding one year.
As used in this section, "inhabited" means currently being used
for dwelling purposes, whether occupied or not.



246.1. (a) Except as provided in subdivision (f), upon the
conviction of any person found guilty of murder in the first or
second degree, manslaughter, attempted murder, assault with a deadly
weapon, the unlawful discharge or brandishing of a firearm from or at
an occupied vehicle where the victim was killed, attacked, or
assaulted from or in a motor vehicle by the use of a firearm on a
public street or highway, or the unlawful possession of a firearm by
a member of a criminal street gang, as defined in subdivision (f) of
Section 186.22, while present in a vehicle the court shall order a
vehicle used in the commission of that offense sold.
Any vehicle ordered to be sold pursuant to this subdivision shall
be surrendered to the sheriff of the county or the chief of police of
the city in which the violation occurred. The officer to whom the
vehicle is surrendered shall promptly ascertain from the Department
of Motor Vehicles the names and addresses of all legal and registered
owners of the vehicle and within five days of receiving that
information, shall send by certified mail a notice to all legal and
registered owners of the vehicle other than the defendant, at the
addresses obtained from the department, informing them that the
vehicle has been declared a nuisance and will be sold or otherwise
disposed of pursuant to this section, and of the approximate date and
location of the sale or other disposition. The notice shall also
inform any legal owner of its right to conduct the sale pursuant to
subdivision (b).
(b) Any legal owner which in the regular course of its business
conducts sales of repossessed or surrendered motor vehicles may take
possession and conduct the sale of the vehicle if it notifies the
officer to whom the vehicle is surrendered of its intent to conduct
the sale within 15 days of the mailing of the notice pursuant to
subdivision (a). Sale of the vehicle pursuant to this subdivision may
be conducted at the time, in the manner, and on the notice usually
given by the legal owner for the sale of repossessed or surrendered
vehicles. The proceeds of any sale conducted by the legal owner shall
be disposed of as provided in subdivision (d).
(c) If the legal owner does not notify the officer to whom the
vehicle is surrendered of its intent to conduct the sale as provided
in subdivision (b), the officer shall offer the vehicle for sale at
public auction within 60 days of receiving the vehicle. At least 10
days but not more than 20 days prior to the sale, not counting the
day of sale, the officer shall give notice of the sale by advertising
once in a newspaper of general circulation published in the city or
county, as the case may be, in which the vehicle is located, which
notice shall contain a description of the make, year, model,
identification number, and license number of the vehicle, and the
date, time, and location of the sale. For motorcycles, the engine
number shall also be included. If there is no newspaper of general
circulation published in the county, notice shall be given by posting
a notice of sale containing the information required by this
subdivision in three of the most public places in the city or county
in which the vehicle is located and at the place where the vehicle is
to be sold for 10 consecutive days prior to and including the day of
the sale.
(d) The proceeds of a sale conducted pursuant to this section
shall be disposed of in the following priority:
(1) To satisfy the costs of the sale, including costs incurred
with respect to the taking and keeping of the vehicle pending sale.
(2) To the legal owner in an amount to satisfy the indebtedness
owed to the legal owner remaining as of the date of sale, including
accrued interest or finance charges and delinquency charges.
(3) To the holder of any subordinate lien or encumbrance on the
vehicle to satisfy any indebtedness so secured if written
notification of demand is received before distribution of the
proceeds is completed. The holder of a subordinate lien or
encumbrance, if requested, shall reasonably furnish reasonable proof
of its interest, and unless it does so on request is not entitled to
distribution pursuant to this paragraph.
(4) To any other person who can establish an interest in the
vehicle, including a community property interest, to the extent of
his or her provable interest.
(5) The balance, if any, to the city or county in which the
violation occurred, to be deposited in a special account in its
general fund to be used exclusively to pay the costs or a part of the
costs of providing services or education to prevent juvenile
violence.
The person conducting the sale shall disburse the proceeds of the
sale as provided in this subdivision, and provide a written
accounting regarding the disposition to all persons entitled to or
claiming a share of the proceeds, within 15 days after the sale is
conducted.
(e) If the vehicle to be sold under this section is not of the
type that can readily be sold to the public generally, the vehicle
shall be destroyed or donated to an eleemosynary institution.
(f) No vehicle may be sold pursuant to this section in either of
the following circumstances:
(1) The vehicle is stolen, unless the identity of the legal and
registered owners of the vehicle cannot be reasonably ascertained.
(2) The vehicle is owned by another, or there is a community
property interest in the vehicle owned by a person other than the
defendant and the vehicle is the only vehicle available to the
defendant's immediate family which may be operated on the highway
with a class 3 or class 4 driver's license.
(g) A vehicle is used in the commission of a violation of the
offenses enumerated in subdivision (a) if a firearm is discharged
either from the vehicle at another person or by an occupant of a
vehicle other than the vehicle in which the victim is an occupant.



246.3. (a) Except as otherwise authorized by law, any person who
willfully discharges a firearm in a grossly negligent manner which
could result in injury or death to a person is guilty of a public
offense and shall be punished by imprisonment in a county jail not
exceeding one year, or by imprisonment pursuant to subdivision (h) of
Section 1170.
(b) Except as otherwise authorized by law, any person who
willfully discharges a BB device in a grossly negligent manner which
could result in injury or death to a person is guilty of a public
offense and shall be punished by imprisonment in a county jail not
exceeding one year.
(c) As used in this section, "BB device" means any instrument that
expels a projectile, such as a BB or a pellet, through the force of
air pressure, gas pressure, or spring action.



247. (a) Any person who willfully and maliciously discharges a
firearm at an unoccupied aircraft is guilty of a felony.
(b) Any person who discharges a firearm at an unoccupied motor
vehicle or an uninhabited building or dwelling house is guilty of a
public offense punishable by imprisonment in the county jail for not
more than one year or in the state prison. This subdivision does not
apply to shooting at an abandoned vehicle, unoccupied vehicle,
uninhabited building, or dwelling house with the permission of the
owner.
As used in this section and Section 246 "aircraft" means any
contrivance intended for and capable of transporting persons through
the airspace.



247.5. Any person who willfully and maliciously discharges a laser
at an aircraft, whether in motion or in flight, while occupied, is
guilty of a violation of this section, which shall be punishable as
either a misdemeanor by imprisonment in the county jail for not more
than one year or by a fine of one thousand dollars ($1,000), or a
felony by imprisonment pursuant to subdivision (h) of Section 1170
for 16 months, two years, or three years, or by a fine of two
thousand dollars ($2,000). This section does not apply to the conduct
of laser development activity by or on behalf of the United States
Armed Forces.
As used in this section, "aircraft" means any contrivance intended
for and capable of transporting persons through the airspace.
As used in this section, "laser" means a device that utilizes the
natural oscillations of atoms or molecules between energy levels for
generating coherent electromagnetic radiation in the ultraviolet,
visible, or infrared region of the spectrum, and when discharged
exceeds one milliwatt continuous wave.



248. Any person who, with the intent to interfere with the
operation of an aircraft, willfully shines a light or other bright
device, of an intensity capable of impairing the operation of an
aircraft, at an aircraft, shall be punished by a fine not exceeding
one thousand dollars ($1,000), or by imprisonment in a county jail
not exceeding one year, or by both that fine and imprisonment.



PENAL CODE
SECTION 281-289.6




281. (a) Every person having a husband or wife living, who marries
any other person, except in the cases specified in Section 282, is
guilty of bigamy.
(b) Upon a trial for bigamy, it is not necessary to prove either
of the marriages by the register, certificate, or other record
evidence thereof, but the marriages may be proved by evidence which
is admissible to prove a marriage in other cases; and when the second
marriage took place out of this state, proof of that fact,
accompanied with proof of cohabitation thereafter in this state, is
sufficient to sustain the charge.



282. Section 281 does not extend to any of the following:
(a) To any person by reason of any former marriage whose husband
or wife by such marriage has been absent for five successive years
without being known to such person within that time to be living.
(b) To any person by reason of any former marriage which has been
pronounced void, annulled, or dissolved by the judgment of a
competent court.



283. Bigamy is punishable by a fine not exceeding ten thousand
dollars ($10,000) or by imprisonment in a county jail not exceeding
one year or in the state prison.



284. Every person who knowingly and willfully marries the husband
or wife of another, in any case in which such husband or wife would
be punishable under the provisions of this chapter, is punishable by
fine not less than five thousand dollars ($5,000), or by imprisonment
pursuant to subdivision (h) of Section 1170.


285. Persons being within the degrees of consanguinity within which
marriages are declared by law to be incestuous and void, who
intermarry with each other, or who being 14 years of age or older,
commit fornication or adultery with each other, are punishable by
imprisonment in the state prison.



286. (a) Sodomy is sexual conduct consisting of contact between the
penis of one person and the anus of another person. Any sexual
penetration, however slight, is sufficient to complete the crime of
sodomy.
(b) (1) Except as provided in Section 288, any person who
participates in an act of sodomy with another person who is under 18
years of age shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison,
or in a county jail for not more than one year.
(2) Except as provided in Section 288, any person over the age of
21 years who participates in an act of sodomy with another person who
is under 16 years of age shall be guilty of a felony.
(c) (1) Any person who participates in an act of sodomy with
another person who is under 14 years of age and more than 10 years
younger than he or she shall be punished by imprisonment in the state
prison for three, six, or eight years.
(2) (A) Any person who commits an act of sodomy when the act is
accomplished against the victim's will by means of force, violence,
duress, menace, or fear of immediate and unlawful bodily injury on
the victim or another person shall be punished by imprisonment in the
state prison for three, six, or eight years.
(B) Any person who commits an act of sodomy with another person
who is under 14 years of age when the act is accomplished against the
victim's will by means of force, violence, duress, menace, or fear
of immediate and unlawful bodily injury on the victim or another
person shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for 9,
11, or 13 years.
(C) Any person who commits an act of sodomy with another person
who is a minor 14 years of age or older when the act is accomplished
against the victim's will by means of force, violence, duress,
menace, or fear of immediate and unlawful bodily injury on the victim
or another person shall be punished by imprisonment in the state
prison for 7, 9, or 11 years.
(D) This paragraph does not preclude prosecution under Section
269, Section 288.7, or any other provision of law.
(3) Any person who commits an act of sodomy where the act is
accomplished against the victim's will by threatening to retaliate in
the future against the victim or any other person, and there is a
reasonable possibility that the perpetrator will execute the threat,
shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for three, six,
or eight years.
(d) (1) Any person who, while voluntarily acting in concert with
another person, either personally or aiding and abetting that other
person, commits an act of sodomy when the act is accomplished against
the victim's will by means of force or fear of immediate and
unlawful bodily injury on the victim or another person or where the
act is accomplished against the victim's will by threatening to
retaliate in the future against the victim or any other person, and
there is a reasonable possibility that the perpetrator will execute
the threat, shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for
five, seven, or nine years.
(2) Any person who, while voluntarily acting in concert with
another person, either personally or aiding and abetting that other
person, commits an act of sodomy upon a victim who is under 14 years
of age, when the act is accomplished against the victim's will by
means of force or fear of immediate and unlawful bodily injury on the
victim or another person, shall be punished by imprisonment in the
state prison for 10, 12, or 14 years.
(3) Any person who, while voluntarily acting in concert with
another person, either personally or aiding and abetting that other
person, commits an act of sodomy upon a victim who is a minor 14
years of age or older, when the act is accomplished against the
victim's will by means of force or fear of immediate and unlawful
bodily injury on the victim or another person, shall be punished by
imprisonment in the state prison for 7, 9, or 11 years.
(4) This subdivision does not preclude prosecution under Section
269, Section 288.7, or any other provision of law.
(e) Any person who participates in an act of sodomy with any
person of any age while confined in any state prison, as defined in
Section 4504, or in any local detention facility, as defined in
Section 6031.4, shall be punished by imprisonment in the state
prison, or in a county jail for not more than one year.
(f) Any person who commits an act of sodomy, and the victim is at
the time unconscious of the nature of the act and this is known to
the person committing the act, shall be punished by imprisonment in
the state prison for three, six, or eight years. As used in this
subdivision, "unconscious of the nature of the act" means incapable
of resisting because the victim meets one of the following
conditions:
(1) Was unconscious or asleep.
(2) Was not aware, knowing, perceiving, or cognizant that the act
occurred.
(3) Was not aware, knowing, perceiving, or cognizant of the
essential characteristics of the act due to the perpetrator's fraud
in fact.
(4) Was not aware, knowing, perceiving, or cognizant of the
essential characteristics of the act due to the perpetrator's
fraudulent representation that the sexual penetration served a
professional purpose when it served no professional purpose.
(g) Except as provided in subdivision (h), a person who commits an
act of sodomy, and the victim is at the time incapable, because of a
mental disorder or developmental or physical disability, of giving
legal consent, and this is known or reasonably should be known to the
person committing the act, shall be punished by imprisonment in the
state prison for three, six, or eight years. Notwithstanding the
existence of a conservatorship pursuant to the Lanterman-Petris-Short
Act (Part 1 (commencing with Section 5000) of Division 5 of the
Welfare and Institutions Code), the prosecuting attorney shall prove,
as an element of the crime, that a mental disorder or developmental
or physical disability rendered the alleged victim incapable of
giving consent.
(h) Any person who commits an act of sodomy, and the victim is at
the time incapable, because of a mental disorder or developmental or
physical disability, of giving legal consent, and this is known or
reasonably should be known to the person committing the act, and both
the defendant and the victim are at the time confined in a state
hospital for the care and treatment of the mentally disordered or in
any other public or private facility for the care and treatment of
the mentally disordered approved by a county mental health director,
shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison, or in a county
jail for not more than one year. Notwithstanding the existence of a
conservatorship pursuant to the Lanterman-Petris-Short Act (Part 1
(commencing with Section 5000) of Division 5 of the Welfare and
Institutions Code), the prosecuting attorney shall prove, as an
element of the crime, that a mental disorder or developmental or
physical disability rendered the alleged victim incapable of giving
legal consent.
(i) Any person who commits an act of sodomy, where the victim is
prevented from resisting by an intoxicating or anesthetic substance,
or any controlled substance, and this condition was known, or
reasonably should have been known by the accused, shall be punished
by imprisonment in the state prison for three, six, or eight years.
(j) Any person who commits an act of sodomy, where the victim
submits under the belief that the person committing the act is the
victim's spouse, and this belief is induced by any artifice,
pretense, or concealment practiced by the accused, with intent to
induce the belief, shall be punished by imprisonment in the state
prison for three, six, or eight years.
(k) Any person who commits an act of sodomy, where the act is
accomplished against the victim's will by threatening to use the
authority of a public official to incarcerate, arrest, or deport the
victim or another, and the victim has a reasonable belief that the
perpetrator is a public official, shall be punished by imprisonment
in the state prison for three, six, or eight years.
As used in this subdivision, "public official" means a person
employed by a governmental agency who has the authority, as part of
that position, to incarcerate, arrest, or deport another. The
perpetrator does not actually have to be a public official.
(l) As used in subdivisions (c) and (d), "threatening to retaliate"
means a threat to kidnap or falsely imprison, or inflict extreme
pain, serious bodily injury, or death.
(m) In addition to any punishment imposed under this section, the
judge may assess a fine not to exceed seventy dollars ($70) against
any person who violates this section, with the proceeds of this fine
to be used in accordance with Section 1463.23. The court, however,
shall take into consideration the defendant's ability to pay, and no
defendant shall be denied probation because of his or her inability
to pay the fine permitted under this subdivision.



286.5. Any person who sexually assaults any animal protected by
Section 597f for the purpose of arousing or gratifying the sexual
desire of the person is guilty of a misdemeanor.



288. (a) Except as provided in subdivision (i), any person who
willfully and lewdly commits any lewd or lascivious act, including
any of the acts constituting other crimes provided for in Part 1,
upon or with the body, or any part or member thereof, of a child who
is under the age of 14 years, with the intent of arousing, appealing
to, or gratifying the lust, passions, or sexual desires of that
person or the child, is guilty of a felony and shall be punished by
imprisonment in the state prison for three, six, or eight years.
(b) (1) Any person who commits an act described in subdivision (a)
by use of force, violence, duress, menace, or fear of immediate and
unlawful bodily injury on the victim or another person, is guilty of
a felony and shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison
for 5, 8, or 10 years.
(2) Any person who is a caretaker and commits an act described in
subdivision (a) upon a dependent person by use of force, violence,
duress, menace, or fear of immediate and unlawful bodily injury on
the victim or another person, with the intent described in
subdivision (a), is guilty of a felony and shall be punished by
imprisonment in the state prison for 5, 8, or 10 years.
(c) (1) Any person who commits an act described in subdivision (a)
with the intent described in that subdivision, and the victim is a
child of 14 or 15 years, and that person is at least 10 years older
than the child, is guilty of a public offense and shall be punished
by imprisonment in the state prison for one, two, or three years, or
by imprisonment in a county jail for not more than one year. In
determining whether the person is at least 10 years older than the
child, the difference in age shall be measured from the birth date of
the person to the birth date of the child.
(2) Any person who is a caretaker and commits an act described in
subdivision (a) upon a dependent person, with the intent described in
subdivision (a), is guilty of a public offense and shall be punished
by imprisonment in the state prison for one, two, or three years, or
by imprisonment in a county jail for not more than one year.
(d) In any arrest or prosecution under this section or Section
288.5, the peace officer, district attorney, and the court shall
consider the needs of the child victim or dependent person and shall
do whatever is necessary, within existing budgetary resources, and
constitutionally permissible to prevent psychological harm to the
child victim or to prevent psychological harm to the dependent person
victim resulting from participation in the court process.
(e) Upon the conviction of any person for a violation of
subdivision (a) or (b), the court may, in addition to any other
penalty or fine imposed, order the defendant to pay an additional
fine not to exceed ten thousand dollars ($10,000). In setting the
amount of the fine, the court shall consider any relevant factors,
including, but not limited to, the seriousness and gravity of the
offense, the circumstances of its commission, whether the defendant
derived any economic gain as a result of the crime, and the extent to
which the victim suffered economic losses as a result of the crime.
Every fine imposed and collected under this section shall be
deposited in the Victim-Witness Assistance Fund to be available for
appropriation to fund child sexual exploitation and child sexual
abuse victim counseling centers and prevention programs pursuant to
Section 13837.
If the court orders a fine imposed pursuant to this subdivision,
the actual administrative cost of collecting that fine, not to exceed
2 percent of the total amount paid, may be paid into the general
fund of the county treasury for the use and benefit of the county.
(f) For purposes of paragraph (2) of subdivision (b) and paragraph
(2) of subdivision (c), the following definitions apply:
(1) "Caretaker" means an owner, operator, administrator, employee,
independent contractor, agent, or volunteer of any of the following
public or private facilities when the facilities provide care for
elder or dependent persons:
(A) Twenty-four hour health facilities, as defined in Sections
1250, 1250.2, and 1250.3 of the Health and Safety Code.
(B) Clinics.
(C) Home health agencies.
(D) Adult day health care centers.
(E) Secondary schools that serve dependent persons and
postsecondary educational institutions that serve dependent persons
or elders.
(F) Sheltered workshops.
(G) Camps.
(H) Community care facilities, as defined by Section 1402 of the
Health and Safety Code, and residential care facilities for the
elderly, as defined in Section 1569.2 of the Health and Safety Code.
(I) Respite care facilities.
(J) Foster homes.
(K) Regional centers for persons with developmental disabilities.
(L) A home health agency licensed in accordance with Chapter 8
(commencing with Section 1725) of Division 2 of the Health and Safety
Code.
(M) An agency that supplies in-home supportive services.
(N) Board and care facilities.
(O) Any other protective or public assistance agency that provides
health services or social services to elder or dependent persons,
including, but not limited to, in-home supportive services, as
defined in Section 14005.14 of the Welfare and Institutions Code.
(P) Private residences.
(2) "Board and care facilities" means licensed or unlicensed
facilities that provide assistance with one or more of the following
activities:
(A) Bathing.
(B) Dressing.
(C) Grooming.
(D) Medication storage.
(E) Medical dispensation.
(F) Money management.
(3) "Dependent person" means any person who has a physical or
mental impairment that substantially restricts his or her ability to
carry out normal activities or to protect his or her rights,
including, but not limited to, persons who have physical or
developmental disabilities or whose physical or mental abilities have
significantly diminished because of age. "Dependent person" includes
any person who is admitted as an inpatient to a 24-hour health
facility, as defined in Sections 1250, 1250.2, and 1250.3 of the
Health and Safety Code.
(g) Paragraph (2) of subdivision (b) and paragraph (2) of
subdivision (c) apply to the owners, operators, administrators,
employees, independent contractors, agents, or volunteers working at
these public or private facilities and only to the extent that the
individuals personally commit, conspire, aid, abet, or facilitate any
act prohibited by paragraph (2) of subdivision (b) and paragraph (2)
of subdivision (c).
(h) Paragraph (2) of subdivision (b) and paragraph (2) of
subdivision (c) do not apply to a caretaker who is a spouse of, or
who is in an equivalent domestic relationship with, the dependent
person under care.
(i) (1) Any person convicted of a violation of subdivision (a)
shall be imprisoned in the state prison for life with the possibility
of parole if the defendant personally inflicted bodily harm upon the
victim.
(2) The penalty provided in this subdivision shall only apply if
the fact that the defendant personally inflicted bodily harm upon the
victim is pled and proved.
(3) As used in this subdivision, "bodily harm" means any
substantial physical injury resulting from the use of force that is
more than the force necessary to commit the offense.



288.1. Any person convicted of committing any lewd or lascivious
act including any of the acts constituting other crimes provided for
in Part 1 of this code upon or with the body, or any part or member
thereof, of a child under the age of 14 years shall not have his or
her sentence suspended until the court obtains a report from a
reputable psychiatrist, from a reputable psychologist who meets the
standards set forth in Section 1027, as to the mental condition of
that person.



288.2. (a) (1) Every person who, with knowledge that a person is a
minor, or who fails to exercise reasonable care in ascertaining the
true age of a minor, knowingly distributes, sends, causes to be sent,
exhibits, or offers to distribute or exhibit by any means,
including, but not limited to, live or recorded telephone messages,
any harmful matter, as defined in Section 313, to a minor with the
intent of arousing, appealing to, or gratifying the lust or passions
or sexual desires of that person or of a minor, and with the intent
or for the purpose of seducing a minor, is guilty of a public offense
and shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison or in a
county jail.
(2) A person convicted of a second and any subsequent conviction
for a violation of this subdivision is guilty of a felony and shall
be punished by imprisonment in state prison.
(b) (1) Every person who, with knowledge that a person is a minor,
knowingly distributes, sends, causes to be sent, exhibits, or offers
to distribute or exhibit by electronic mail, the Internet, as
defined in Section 17538 of the Business and Professions Code, or a
commercial online service, any harmful matter, as defined in Section
313, to a minor with the intent of arousing, appealing to, or
gratifying the lust or passions or sexual desires of that person or
of a minor, and with the intent, or for the purpose of seducing a
minor, is guilty of a public offense and shall be punished by
imprisonment in the state prison or in a county jail.
(2) A person convicted of a second and any subsequent conviction
for a violation of this subdivision is guilty of a felony punishable
by imprisonment in the state prison.
(c) It shall be a defense to any prosecution under this section
that a parent or guardian committed the act charged in aid of
legitimate sex education.
(d) It shall be a defense in any prosecution under this section
that the act charged was committed in aid of legitimate scientific or
educational purposes.
(e) It does not constitute a violation of this section for a
telephone corporation, as defined in Section 234 of the Public
Utilities Code, a cable television company franchised pursuant to
Section 53066 of the Government Code, or any of its affiliates, an
Internet service provider, or commercial online service provider, to
carry, broadcast, or transmit messages described in this section or
perform related activities in providing telephone, cable television,
Internet, or commercial online services.



288.3. (a) Every person who contacts or communicates with a minor,
or attempts to contact or communicate with a minor, who knows or
reasonably should know that the person is a minor, with intent to
commit an offense specified in Section 207, 209, 261, 264.1, 273a,
286, 288, 288a, 288.2, 289, 311.1, 311.2, 311.4 or 311.11 involving
the minor shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for
the term prescribed for an attempt to commit the intended offense.
(b) As used in this section, "contacts or communicates with" shall
include direct and indirect contact or communication that may be
achieved personally or by use of an agent or agency, any print
medium, any postal service, a common carrier or communication common
carrier, any electronic communications system, or any
telecommunications, wire, computer, or radio communications device or
system.
(c) A person convicted of a violation of subdivision (a) who has
previously been convicted of a violation of subdivision (a) shall be
punished by an additional and consecutive term of imprisonment in the
state prison for five years.


288.4. (a) (1) Every person who, motivated by an unnatural or
abnormal sexual interest in children, arranges a meeting with a minor
or a person he or she believes to be a minor for the purpose of
exposing his or her genitals or pubic or rectal area, having the
child expose his or her genitals or pubic or rectal area, or engaging
in lewd or lascivious behavior, shall be punished by a fine not
exceeding five thousand dollars ($5,000), by imprisonment in a county
jail not exceeding one year, or by both the fine and imprisonment.
(2) Every person who violates this subdivision after a prior
conviction for an offense listed in subdivision (c) of Section 290
shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison.
(b) Every person described in paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) who
goes to the arranged meeting place at or about the arranged time,
shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for two, three,
or four years.
(c) Nothing in this section shall preclude or prohibit prosecution
under any other provision of law.



288.5. (a) Any person who either resides in the same home with the
minor child or has recurring access to the child, who over a period
of time, not less than three months in duration, engages in three or
more acts of substantial sexual conduct with a child under the age of
14 years at the time of the commission of the offense, as defined in
subdivision (b) of Section 1203.066, or three or more acts of lewd
or lascivious conduct, as defined in Section 288, with a child under
the age of 14 years at the time of the commission of the offense is
guilty of the offense of continuous sexual abuse of a child and shall
be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for a term of 6, 12,
or 16 years.
(b) To convict under this section the trier of fact, if a jury,
need unanimously agree only that the requisite number of acts
occurred not on which acts constitute the requisite number.
(c) No other act of substantial sexual conduct, as defined in
subdivision (b) of Section 1203.066, with a child under 14 years of
age at the time of the commission of the offenses, or lewd and
lascivious acts, as defined in Section 288, involving the same victim
may be charged in the same proceeding with a charge under this
section unless the other charged offense occurred outside the time
period charged under this section or the other offense is charged in
the alternative. A defendant may be charged with only one count under
this section unless more than one victim is involved in which case a
separate count may be charged for each victim.



288.7. (a) Any person 18 years of age or older who engages in
sexual intercourse or sodomy with a child who is 10 years of age or
younger is guilty of a felony and shall be punished by imprisonment
in the state prison for a term of 25 years to life.
(b) Any person 18 years of age or older who engages in oral
copulation or sexual penetration, as defined in Section 289, with a
child who is 10 years of age or younger is guilty of a felony and
shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for a term of
15 years to life.


288a. (a) Oral copulation is the act of copulating the mouth of one
person with the sexual organ or anus of another person.
(b) (1) Except as provided in Section 288, any person who
participates in an act of oral copulation with another person who is
under 18 years of age shall be punished by imprisonment in the state
prison, or in a county jail for a period of not more than one year.
(2) Except as provided in Section 288, any person over the age of
21 years who participates in an act of oral copulation with another
person who is under 16 years of age is guilty of a felony.
(c) (1) Any person who participates in an act of oral copulation
with another person who is under 14 years of age and more than 10
years younger than he or she shall be punished by imprisonment in the
state prison for three, six, or eight years.
(2) (A) Any person who commits an act of oral copulation when the
act is accomplished against the victim's will by means of force,
violence, duress, menace, or fear of immediate and unlawful bodily
injury on the victim or another person shall be punished by
imprisonment in the state prison for three, six, or eight years.
(B) Any person who commits an act of oral copulation upon a person
who is under 14 years of age, when the act is accomplished against
the victim's will by means of force, violence, duress, menace, or
fear of immediate and unlawful bodily injury on the victim or another
person, shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for 8,
10, or 12 years.
(C) Any person who commits an act of oral copulation upon a minor
who is 14 years of age or older, when the act is accomplished against
the victim's will by means of force, violence, duress, menace, or
fear of immediate and unlawful bodily injury on the victim or another
person, shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for 6,
8, or 10 years.
(D) This paragraph does not preclude prosecution under Section
269, Section 288.7, or any other provision of law.
(3) Any person who commits an act of oral copulation where the act
is accomplished against the victim's will by threatening to
retaliate in the future against the victim or any other person, and
there is a reasonable possibility that the perpetrator will execute
the threat, shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for
three, six, or eight years.
(d) (1) Any person who, while voluntarily acting in concert with
another person, either personally or by aiding and abetting that
other person, commits an act of oral copulation (1) when the act is
accomplished against the victim's will by means of force or fear of
immediate and unlawful bodily injury on the victim or another person,
or (2) where the act is accomplished against the victim's will by
threatening to retaliate in the future against the victim or any
other person, and there is a reasonable possibility that the
perpetrator will execute the threat, or (3) where the victim is at
the time incapable, because of a mental disorder or developmental or
physical disability, of giving legal consent, and this is known or
reasonably should be known to the person committing the act, shall be
punished by imprisonment in the state prison for five, seven, or
nine years. Notwithstanding the appointment of a conservator with
respect to the victim pursuant to the provisions of the
Lanterman-Petris-Short Act (Part 1 (commencing with Section 5000) of
Division 5 of the Welfare and Institutions Code), the prosecuting
attorney shall prove, as an element of the crime described under
paragraph (3), that a mental disorder or developmental or physical
disability rendered the alleged victim incapable of giving legal
consent.
(2) Any person who, while voluntarily acting in concert with
another person, either personally or aiding and abetting that other
person, commits an act of oral copulation upon a victim who is under
14 years of age, when the act is accomplished against the victim's
will by means of force or fear of immediate and unlawful bodily
injury on the victim or another person, shall be punished by
imprisonment in the state prison for 10, 12, or 14 years.
(3) Any person who, while voluntarily acting in concert with
another person, either personally or aiding and abetting that other
person, commits an act of oral copulation upon a victim who is a
minor 14 years of age or older, when the act is accomplished against
the victim's will by means of force or fear of immediate and unlawful
bodily injury on the victim or another person, shall be punished by
imprisonment in the state prison for 8, 10, or 12 years.
(4) This paragraph does not preclude prosecution under Section
269, Section 288.7, or any other provision of law.
(e) Any person who participates in an act of oral copulation while
confined in any state prison, as defined in Section 4504 or in any
local detention facility as defined in Section 6031.4, shall be
punished by imprisonment in the state prison, or in a county jail for
a period of not more than one year.
(f) Any person who commits an act of oral copulation, and the
victim is at the time unconscious of the nature of the act and this
is known to the person committing the act, shall be punished by
imprisonment in the state prison for a period of three, six, or eight
years. As used in this subdivision, "unconscious of the nature of
the act" means incapable of resisting because the victim meets one of
the following conditions:
(1) Was unconscious or asleep.
(2) Was not aware, knowing, perceiving, or cognizant that the act
occurred.
(3) Was not aware, knowing, perceiving, or cognizant of the
essential characteristics of the act due to the perpetrator's fraud
in fact.
(4) Was not aware, knowing, perceiving, or cognizant of the
essential characteristics of the act due to the perpetrator's
fraudulent representation that the oral copulation served a
professional purpose when it served no professional purpose.
(g) Except as provided in subdivision (h), any person who commits
an act of oral copulation, and the victim is at the time incapable,
because of a mental disorder or developmental or physical disability,
of giving legal consent, and this is known or reasonably should be
known to the person committing the act, shall be punished by
imprisonment in the state prison, for three, six, or eight years.
Notwithstanding the existence of a conservatorship pursuant to the
provisions of the Lanterman-Petris-Short Act (Part 1 (commencing with
Section 5000) of Division 5 of the Welfare and Institutions Code),
the prosecuting attorney shall prove, as an element of the crime,
that a mental disorder or developmental or physical disability
rendered the alleged victim incapable of giving consent.
(h) Any person who commits an act of oral copulation, and the
victim is at the time incapable, because of a mental disorder or
developmental or physical disability, of giving legal consent, and
this is known or reasonably should be known to the person committing
the act, and both the defendant and the victim are at the time
confined in a state hospital for the care and treatment of the
mentally disordered or in any other public or private facility for
the care and treatment of the mentally disordered approved by a
county mental health director, shall be punished by imprisonment in
the state prison, or in a county jail for a period of not more than
one year. Notwithstanding the existence of a conservatorship pursuant
to the provisions of the Lanterman-Petris-Short Act (Part 1
(commencing with Section 5000) of Division 5 of the Welfare and
Institutions Code), the prosecuting attorney shall prove, as an
element of the crime, that a mental disorder or developmental or
physical disability rendered the alleged victim incapable of giving
legal consent.
(i) Any person who commits an act of oral copulation, where the
victim is prevented from resisting by any intoxicating or anesthetic
substance, or any controlled substance, and this condition was known,
or reasonably should have been known by the accused, shall be
punished by imprisonment in the state prison for a period of three,
six, or eight years.
(j) Any person who commits an act of oral copulation, where the
victim submits under the belief that the person committing the act is
the victim's spouse, and this belief is induced by any artifice,
pretense, or concealment practiced by the accused, with intent to
induce the belief, shall be punished by imprisonment in the state
prison for a period of three, six, or eight years.
(k) Any person who commits an act of oral copulation, where the
act is accomplished against the victim's will by threatening to use
the authority of a public official to incarcerate, arrest, or deport
the victim or another, and the victim has a reasonable belief that
the perpetrator is a public official, shall be punished by
imprisonment in the state prison for a period of three, six, or eight
years.
As used in this subdivision, "public official" means a person
employed by a governmental agency who has the authority, as part of
that position, to incarcerate, arrest, or deport another. The
perpetrator does not actually have to be a public official.
(l) As used in subdivisions (c) and (d), "threatening to retaliate"
means a threat to kidnap or falsely imprison, or to inflict extreme
pain, serious bodily injury, or death.
(m) In addition to any punishment imposed under this section, the
judge may assess a fine not to exceed seventy dollars ($70) against
any person who violates this section, with the proceeds of this fine
to be used in accordance with Section 1463.23. The court shall,
however, take into consideration the defendant's ability to pay, and
no defendant shall be denied probation because of his or her
inability to pay the fine permitted under this subdivision.




289. (a) (1) (A) Any person who commits an act of sexual
penetration when the act is accomplished against the victim's will by
means of force, violence, duress, menace, or fear of immediate and
unlawful bodily injury on the victim or another person shall be
punished by imprisonment in the state prison for three, six, or eight
years.
(B) Any person who commits an act of sexual penetration upon a
child who is under 14 years of age, when the act is accomplished
against the victim's will by means of force, violence, duress,
menace, or fear of immediate and unlawful bodily injury on the victim
or another person, shall be punished by imprisonment in the state
prison for 8, 10, or 12 years.
(C) Any person who commits an act of sexual penetration upon a
minor who is 14 years of age or older, when the act is accomplished
against the victim's will by means of force, violence, duress,
menace, or fear of immediate and unlawful bodily injury on the victim
or another person, shall be punished by imprisonment in the state
prison for 6, 8, or 10 years.
(D) This paragraph does not preclude prosecution under Section
269, Section 288.7, or any other provision of law.
(2) Any person who commits an act of sexual penetration when the
act is accomplished against the victim's will by threatening to
retaliate in the future against the victim or any other person, and
there is a reasonable possibility that the perpetrator will execute
the threat, shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for
three, six, or eight years.
(b) Except as provided in subdivision (c), any person who commits
an act of sexual penetration, and the victim is at the time
incapable, because of a mental disorder or developmental or physical
disability, of giving legal consent, and this is known or reasonably
should be known to the person committing the act or causing the act
to be committed, shall be punished by imprisonment in the state
prison for three, six, or eight years. Notwithstanding the
appointment of a conservator with respect to the victim pursuant to
the provisions of the Lanterman-Petris-Short Act (Part 1 (commencing
with Section 5000) of Division 5 of the Welfare and Institutions
Code), the prosecuting attorney shall prove, as an element of the
crime, that a mental disorder or developmental or physical disability
rendered the alleged victim incapable of giving legal consent.
(c) Any person who commits an act of sexual penetration, and the
victim is at the time incapable, because of a mental disorder or
developmental or physical disability, of giving legal consent, and
this is known or reasonably should be known to the person committing
the act or causing the act to be committed and both the defendant and
the victim are at the time confined in a state hospital for the care
and treatment of the mentally disordered or in any other public or
private facility for the care and treatment of the mentally
disordered approved by a county mental health director, shall be
punished by imprisonment in the state prison, or in a county jail for
a period of not more than one year. Notwithstanding the existence of
a conservatorship pursuant to the provisions of the
Lanterman-Petris-Short Act (Part 1 (commencing with Section 5000) of
Division 5 of the Welfare and Institutions Code), the prosecuting
attorney shall prove, as an element of the crime, that a mental
disorder or developmental or physical disability rendered the alleged
victim incapable of giving legal consent.
(d) Any person who commits an act of sexual penetration, and the
victim is at the time unconscious of the nature of the act and this
is known to the person committing the act or causing the act to be
committed, shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for
three, six, or eight years. As used in this subdivision, "unconscious
of the nature of the act" means incapable of resisting because the
victim meets one of the following conditions:
(1) Was unconscious or asleep.
(2) Was not aware, knowing, perceiving, or cognizant that the act
occurred.
(3) Was not aware, knowing, perceiving, or cognizant of the
essential characteristics of the act due to the perpetrator's fraud
in fact.
(4) Was not aware, knowing, perceiving, or cognizant of the
essential characteristics of the act due to the perpetrator's
fraudulent representation that the sexual penetration served a
professional purpose when it served no professional purpose.
(e) Any person who commits an act of sexual penetration when the
victim is prevented from resisting by any intoxicating or anesthetic
substance, or any controlled substance, and this condition was known,
or reasonably should have been known by the accused, shall be
punished by imprisonment in the state prison for a period of three,
six, or eight years.
(f) Any person who commits an act of sexual penetration when the
victim submits under the belief that the person committing the act or
causing the act to be committed is the victim's spouse, and this
belief is induced by any artifice, pretense, or concealment practiced
by the accused, with intent to induce the belief, shall be punished
by imprisonment in the state prison for a period of three, six, or
eight years.
(g) Any person who commits an act of sexual penetration when the
act is accomplished against the victim's will by threatening to use
the authority of a public official to incarcerate, arrest, or deport
the victim or another, and the victim has a reasonable belief that
the perpetrator is a public official, shall be punished by
imprisonment in the state prison for a period of three, six, or eight
years.
As used in this subdivision, "public official" means a person
employed by a governmental agency who has the authority, as part of
that position, to incarcerate, arrest, or deport another. The
perpetrator does not actually have to be a public official.
(h) Except as provided in Section 288, any person who participates
in an act of sexual penetration with another person who is under 18
years of age shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison or
in the county jail for a period of not more than one year.
(i) Except as provided in Section 288, any person over the age of
21 years who participates in an act of sexual penetration with
another person who is under 16 years of age shall be guilty of a
felony.
(j) Any person who participates in an act of sexual penetration
with another person who is under 14 years of age and who is more than
10 years younger than he or she shall be punished by imprisonment in
the state prison for three, six, or eight years.
(k) As used in this section:
(1) "Sexual penetration" is the act of causing the penetration,
however slight, of the genital or anal opening of any person or
causing another person to so penetrate the defendant's or another
person's genital or anal opening for the purpose of sexual arousal,
gratification, or abuse by any foreign object, substance, instrument,
or device, or by any unknown object.
(2) "Foreign object, substance, instrument, or device" shall
include any part of the body, except a sexual organ.
(3) "Unknown object" shall include any foreign object, substance,
instrument, or device, or any part of the body, including a penis,
when it is not known whether penetration was by a penis or by a
foreign object, substance, instrument, or device, or by any other
part of the body.
(l) As used in subdivision (a), "threatening to retaliate" means a
threat to kidnap or falsely imprison, or inflict extreme pain,
serious bodily injury or death.
(m) As used in this section, "victim" includes any person who the
defendant causes to penetrate the genital or anal opening of the
defendant or another person or whose genital or anal opening is
caused to be penetrated by the defendant or another person and who
otherwise qualifies as a victim under the requirements of this
section.



289.5. (a) Every person who flees to this state with the intent to
avoid prosecution for an offense which, if committed or attempted in
this state, would have been punishable as one or more of the offenses
described in subdivision (c) of Section 290, and who has been
charged with that offense under the laws of the jurisdiction from
which the person fled, is guilty of a misdemeanor.
(b) Every person who flees to this state with the intent to avoid
custody or confinement imposed for conviction of an offense under the
laws of the jurisdiction from which the person fled, which offense,
if committed or attempted in this state, would have been punishable
as one or more of the offenses described in subdivision (c) of
Section 290, is guilty of a misdemeanor.
(c) No person shall be charged and prosecuted for an offense under
this section unless the prosecutor has requested the other
jurisdiction to extradite the person and the other jurisdiction has
refused to do so.
(d) Any person who is convicted of any felony sex offense
described in subdivision (c) of Section 290, that is committed after
fleeing to this state under the circumstances described in
subdivision (a) or (b) of this section, shall, in addition and
consecutive to the punishment for that conviction, receive an
additional term of two years' imprisonment.



289.6. (a) (1) An employee or officer of a public entity health
facility, or an employee, officer, or agent of a private person or
entity that provides a health facility or staff for a health facility
under contract with a public entity, who engages in sexual activity
with a consenting adult who is confined in a health facility is
guilty of a public offense. As used in this paragraph, "health
facility" means a health facility as defined in subdivisions (b),
(e), (g), (h), and (j) of, and subparagraph (C) of paragraph (2) of
subdivision (i) of, Section 1250 of the Health and Safety Code, in
which the victim has been confined involuntarily.
(2) An employee or officer of a public entity detention facility,
or an employee, officer, agent of a private person or entity that
provides a detention facility or staff for a detention facility, a
person or agent of a public or private entity under contract with a
detention facility, a volunteer of a private or public entity
detention facility, or a peace officer who engages in sexual activity
with a consenting adult who is confined in a detention facility is
guilty of a public offense.
(3) An employee with a department, board, or authority under the
California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation or a facility
under contract with a department, board, or authority under the
California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation, who, during
the course of his or her employment directly provides treatment,
care, control, or supervision of inmates, wards, or parolees, and who
engages in sexual activity with a consenting adult who is an inmate,
ward, or parolee, is guilty of a public offense.
(b) As used in this section, the term "public entity" means the
state, federal government, a city, a county, a city and county, a
joint county jail district, or any entity created as a result of a
joint powers agreement between two or more public entities.
(c) As used in this section, the term "detention facility" means:
(1) A prison, jail, camp, or other correctional facility used for
the confinement of adults or both adults and minors.
(2) A building or facility used for the confinement of adults or
adults and minors pursuant to a contract with a public entity.
(3) A room that is used for holding persons for interviews,
interrogations, or investigations and that is separate from a jail or
located in the administrative area of a law enforcement facility.
(4) A vehicle used to transport confined persons during their
period of confinement, including transporting a person after he or
she has been arrested but has not been booked.
(5) A court holding facility located within or adjacent to a court
building that is used for the confinement of persons for the purpose
of court appearances.
(d) As used in this section, "sexual activity" means:
(1) Sexual intercourse.
(2) Sodomy, as defined in subdivision (a) of Section 286.
(3) Oral copulation, as defined in subdivision (a) of Section
288a.
(4) Sexual penetration, as defined in subdivision (k) of Section
289.
(5) The rubbing or touching of the breasts or sexual organs of
another, or of oneself in the presence of and with knowledge of
another, with the intent of arousing, appealing to, or gratifying the
lust, passions, or sexual desires of oneself or another.
(e) Consent by a confined person or parolee to sexual activity
proscribed by this section is not a defense to a criminal prosecution
for violation of this section.
(f) This section does not apply to sexual activity between
consenting adults that occurs during an overnight conjugal visit that
takes place pursuant to a court order or with the written approval
of an authorized representative of the public entity that operates or
contracts for the operation of the detention facility where the
conjugal visit takes place, to physical contact or penetration made
pursuant to a lawful search, or bona fide medical examinations or
treatments, including clinical treatments.
(g) Any violation of paragraph (1) of subdivision (a), or a
violation of paragraph (2) or (3) of subdivision (a) as described in
paragraph (5) of subdivision (d), is a misdemeanor.
(h) Any violation of paragraph (2) or (3) of subdivision (a), as
described in paragraph (1), (2), (3), or (4) of subdivision (d),
shall be punished by imprisonment in a county jail not exceeding one
year, or in the state prison, or by a fine of not more than ten
thousand dollars ($10,000) or by both that fine and imprisonment.
(i) Any person previously convicted of a violation of this section
shall, upon a subsequent violation, be guilty of a felony.
(j) Anyone who is convicted of a felony violation of this section
who is employed by a department, board, or authority within the Youth
and Adult Correctional Agency shall be terminated in accordance with
the State Civil Service Act (Part 2 (commencing with Section 18500)
of Division 5 of Title 2 of the Government Code). Anyone who has been
convicted of a felony violation of this section shall not be
eligible to be hired or reinstated by a department, board, or
authority within the Youth and Adult Correctional Agency.


Outcome: Defendant was found guilty and will be sentenced on Mary 10, 2013.

Plaintiff's Experts:

Defendant's Experts:

Comments:



 
 
Home | Add Attorney | Add Expert | Add Court Reporter | Sign In
Find-A-Lawyer By City | Find-A-Lawyer By State and City | Articles | Recent Lawyer Listings
Verdict Corrections | Link Errors | Advertising | Editor | Privacy Statement
© 1996-2018 MoreLaw, Inc. - All rights reserved.